The Kennerspiel des Jahres 2022 is Living Forest. The jury of the Spiel des Jahres eV has made its decision and justified it. Ludonaute's mystical tactical game lets players assume the roles of one of the four nature spirits to work together to protect the forest from Onibi's flames.

The competition was great this year. With Cryptid by Hal Duncan and Ruth Veevers, Dune: Imperium by Paul Dennen and Living Forest by Aske Christiansen, three top-class board games were in the running for the Kennerspiel des Jahres 2022 award. In the end, Living Forest prevailed.

Interactive board game for connoisseurs

"With his first work, author Aske Christiansen has created an upscale family game/easy connoisseur game whose imaginative artwork by Apolline Etienne (Momiji, Wreck Raiders, Muse) almost steals the show from the good game mechanism," says our author Jonas in his Review of Living Forest written, for which he ultimately awarded 80 out of 100 points. The high rating reflects the quality of the board game. And yet: the competition appeared above all with Dune: Empire to be overpowered. In the end, Paul Dennen's idea still lost out. Last but not least, this is due to the high interaction value of Living Forest.

"Three central factors make up the thrill and attraction of 'Living Forest': the exciting race to twelve points, the risky gamble when revealing the cards and the high level of interaction with the players." by Living Forest as the connoisseur game of the year 2022. The board game focuses on what parlor games are supposed to be about: shared experiences at the gaming table. You also play at the table with Dune: Imperium or Cryptid, but in the end Living Forest was one my ahead of its two competitors with its understanding of a community experience. The charming table structure should also have played its part in Living Forest being one step ahead in the Kennerspiel des Jahres 2022. In this country, the board game is distributed by Pegasus Spiele.

And os it is hardly surprising that Ludonaute will provide supplies: the French publisher has already announced the first expansion for the game.

Not much is really known about the new expansion. Ludonaute hasn't announced the title, cover art or exact release date - but something is to come. In France, the expansion is scheduled for release in early 2023. In other regions “a few months later”.

In addition to the three titles nominated for the Kennerspiel des Jahres 2022, the jury put three other parlor games on the list of recommendations: Arche Nova by Mathias Wigge (Feuerland), Khôra by Head Quarter Simulation Game Club (Iello) and Witchstone by Martino Chiacchiera and Reiner Knizia ( R&R / whoops).

Preview Product Rating Price
Pegasus Games 51234G Living Forest Pegasus Games 51234G Living Forest * 29,99 EUR

Author

Last updated on 6.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Das Kennerspiel des Jahres 2022 ist Living Forest. Die Jury des Spiel des Jahres e.V. hat ihre Entscheidung getroffen und begründet. Das mystische Taktikspiel von Ludonaute lässt Spieler die Rollen von einem der vier Naturgeister einnehmen, um gemeinsam den Wald vor den Flammen Onibis zu schützen.

Die Konkurrenz war groß in diesem Jahr. Mit Cryptid von Hal Duncan und Ruth Veevers, Dune: Imperium von Paul Dennen und Living Forest von Aske Christiansen gingen drei hochkarätige Brettspiele ins Rennen um den Preis Kennerspiel des Jahres 2022. Durchsetzen konnte sich am Ende Living Forest.

Interaktives Brettspiel für Kenner

“Autor Aske Christiansen hat mit seinem Erstlingswerk ein gehobenes Familienspiel/leichtes Kennerspiel geschaffen, dessen fantasievolles Artwork von Apolline Etienne (Momiji, Wreck Raiders, Muse) dem guten Spielmechanismus fast die Show stiehlt”, so hat unser Autor Jonas es in seiner Rezension zu Living Forest geschrieben, für die er letztendlich 80 von 100 Punkten vergab. Die hohe Wertung spiegelt die Qualität des Brettspiels wider. Und dennoch: die Konkurrenz erschien vor allem mit Dune: Imperium übermächtig zu sein. Paul Dennens Idee zog am Ende trotzdem den Kürzeren. Nicht zuletzt liegt das am hohen Interaktionswert von Living Forest.

“Drei zentrale Faktoren machen den Nervenkitzel und Reiz von ‚Living Forest‘ aus: Das spannende Wettrennen auf zwölf Punkte, das riskante Zocken beim Kartenaufdecken und die hohe Interaktion mit den Mitspielenden.”, so lautet die Begründung der Spiel des Jahres-Jury zur Auszeichnung von Living Forest als Kennerspiel des Jahres 2022. Das Brettspiel stellt in den Fokus, worum es bei Gesellschaftsspielen im Kern gehen soll: gemeinsam Erlebnisse am Spieltisch. Auch bei Dune: Imperium oder Cryptid spielt man am Tisch, letztendlich lag Living Forest mit seinem Verständnis eines Gemeinschaftserlebnisses jedoch einen My vor den beiden Konkurrenten. Auch der charmante Tischaufbau dürfte seinen Teil dazu beigetragen haben, dass Living Forest beim Kennerspiel des Jahres 2022 eine Nasenlänge voraus war. Hierzulande wird das Brettspiel über Pegasus Spiele vertrieben.

Und os ist es kaum verwunderlich, dass Ludonaute für Nachschub sorgen wird: Der französische Verlag kündigte bereits die erste Erweiterung für das Spiel an.

Wirklich viel ist zu der neuen Erweiterung noch nicht bekannt. Weder der Titel, noch ein Cover oder ein genaues Erscheinungsdatum wurden von Ludonaute bekanntgegeben – doch es wird etwas kommen. In Frankreich soll die Erweiterung Anfang 2023 erscheinen. In anderen Regionen “ein paar Monate später”.

Neben den drei für das Kennerspiel des Jahres 2022 nominierten Titeln hat die Jury drei weitere Gesellschaftsspiele auf die Empfehlungsliste gesetzt: Arche Nova von Mathias Wigge (Feuerland), Khôra von Head Quarter Simulation Game Club (Iello) und Witchstone von Martino Chiacchiera und Reiner Knizia (R&R / Huch).

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Pegasus Spiele 51234G Living Forest Pegasus Spiele 51234G Living Forest * 29,99 EUR

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 3.08.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API