Playing solo is trendy, especially in times of pandemic. But already in the years before, the single-player games were on the advance and were no longer neglected by the developers. With or without artificial intelligence as a game opponent: the single player mechanics are, in most cases, in no way inferior to those of the multiplayer variant. It is all the more gratifying that, according to announcements, a massive amount of solo games on Kickstarter will be waiting to be funded by the crowd throughout 2021. A selection of exciting board game titles for the first few months of the year can be found in this post!


There are many reasons for playing board games by yourself. Right at the forefront is the Covid pandemic and the associated risk of infecting yourself and your fellow players with the virus. But everyday reasons can also make playing solo a practical alternative. Be it an irregular duty roster that makes it difficult to plan game meetings or the distance to possible game partners.

Single player games adapt to every situation in life

A solo game on the board means above all being able to concentrate fully on your own wishes. The theme of the game, the mechanics, the time of day of the session, all of this no longer needs to be coordinated with other players. Even interruptions do not disturb the flow of the game so much, because the game can simply be continued at any time. The advantages of a board game with a single player variant are obvious and convince even skeptics.

The only downer: The social component is completely missing, because even an artificial intelligence as an opponent does not allow the typical flair of a game meeting with nice fellow players. The great thing about most board games is that the solo and multiplayer variants are not mutually exclusive and are usually even integrated into a board game.

Solo games in the first quarter of 2021 on Kickstarter

Darwin's Journey, by the publisher Thundergryph Games and the developers Simone Luciani and Nestore Mangone, is a board game for one to four players.

In the worker placement and euro game, the player relives the memories of Darwin's trip to the Galapagos Islands and helps develop the theory of evolution. to Darwin's Journey we have already reported in a more detailed post, you can easily reach it via the inserted link.

Start day on Kickstarter: January 6th

The board game Darwin's Journey is currently running on Kickstarter and is about the theory of evolution. Image: Thundergyph Games

The board game Darwin's Journey is currently running on Kickstarter and is about the theory of evolution. Image: Thundergyph Games

Tinners' Trail, by the publisher Alley Cat Games and the designer Martin Wallace, is a game for one to five players. The new edition of the popular title from 2008 has been completely redesigned.

The euro game is set in Cornwall in the 19th century and the player slips into the role of a mining conglomerate at the height of tin and copper mining. Here you have to manage your own capital and purchase land in auctions, which then have to be examined for tin and copper deposits.

Start day on Kickstarter: January 11th

Pingyao: First Chinese Banks, by the publisher Nithrania and the designer Wu Shuang, is a board game for one to four players. In the dice and worker placement game with a business theme, the player slips into the role of a Jin trader in the Qing Dynasty.

As the game progresses, profits must be made by allowing agencies to expand across China and providing services to key business people. The goal of Pingyao: nothing less than wealth.

Start day on Kickstarter: January 12th

Fall Land: Descendants, by the publisher Fallen Dominion Studios and the designers Jon Lonngren and Sean Cahill, is a board game for one to six players.

In the expansion to "Fallen Land: A Post Apocalyptic Board Game" the player fights for supremacy over the wasteland. This is where leadership, management and survival count. The expansion comes up with a new city technology, new game chips, cards and game variants.

Start day on Kickstarter: January 12th

Fallen Land: Descendants is the expansion to Fallen Land: A Post-Apocalyptic Board Game Picture: Fallen Dominion Studios

Fallen Land: Descendants is the expansion to Fallen Land: A Post-Apocalyptic Board Game Picture: Fallen Dominion Studios

Primal: The Awakening, by the publisher Reggie Games and the designers Tommaso Mondadori and Alberto Parisi, is a game for one to four players. The campaign game, with a monster hunt theme and miniatures as characters, takes place in a fantasy world in which the player fights for survival in the harsh wilderness. To do this, he slips into the role of a hunter who has to compete against so many dangerous creatures. With the goal in mind: to uncover the secrets of its origins.

Start day on Kickstarter: January 19th

Maeshowe: to Orkney Saga, from the publisher Dragon Dawn Productions and from the pen of the designer Lee Broderick and Nikolas Lundström Patrakka, is a board game for one or two players.

The story of Maeshowe is based on the true stories of the Vikings Earl Rognvald, Kali Kolsson and Earl Harald Maddadson. They broke into the grave of Maeshowe on Orkney in the 12th century when they were on a treasure hunt. In the role of these men, one or two players try to free themselves from the grave before they fall victim to hunger or threaten to freak out.

Start day on Kickstarter: Probably January 21st

Maeshowe: Orkney Saga tells the true story of brave Vikings. Image: Dragon Dawn Productions

Maeshowe: Orkney Saga tells the true story of brave Vikings. Image: Dragon Dawn Productions

Core Worlds: Empires, by the publisher Quixotic Games and the designers Christopher Guild and Andrew Parks, is a board game for one to five players.

The worker placement takes place in the vastness of the galaxy. Their six variable kingdoms must be visited by the player, as leader of ambassadors (workers), in order to bring one under his control. With the aim of the game: to become the strongest rule in the cosmos. During the course of the game there is a lot of conflict.

Start day on Kickstarter: February 1st

Eternal Palace, from publisher Alley Cat Games and designer Steven Aramini, known for popular titles such as Sprawlopolis, is a game for one to five players.

The euro dice and resource collection game lets the player slip into the role of an artist who is supposed to help his emperor rebuild his palace, which was destroyed by a terrible earthquake. The task here is to collect resources, rebuild monuments and create works of art for the emperor. With the aim: To gain the favor of the emperor.

Start day on Kickstarter: Probably in the first quarter

Long Shot: The Dice Game, by the publisher Perplext and the designer Chris Handy, is a push-your-luck and strategy game for one to eight players. In Long Shot, the player finds himself in a horse race.

His tasks: buy horses, place bets, influence the race and use special skills. The roll of the die determines which horses are allowed to move and which options are available. The aim of the game is: To have as much money as possible.

Start day on Kickstarter: Probably in the first quarter

Long Shot: Dice Game a game about the horse racing track. Image: perplexed

Long Shot: Dice Game - A game about the racecourse and betting. Image: perplexed

Paper Company, by the publisher Flannel Games and the designer Brent Keath, is a dice game for one to six players. Here the player runs his own paper business. In the course of the game he has to keep an eye on the economy, hire employees and ensure a good work ethic.

The principle that counts here is: the higher the die value, the better the economic situation of the company and the actions it has carried out (morality, accounting, purchasing, sales and recruiting). Paper Company contains six different paper companies and 40 different employees, so that the fun of the game should be maintained over a longer period of time.

Start day on Kickstarter: Probably in the first quarter


Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Das Solospielen liegt gerade zu Zeiten der Pandemie im Trend. Doch bereits in den Jahren zuvor, waren die Einzelspieler-Spiele auf dem Vormarsch und wurden von den Entwicklern längst nicht mehr stiefmütterlich behandelt. Ob mit oder ohne künstlicher Intelligenz als Spielgegner: die Einzelspieler-Mechanik steht, in den meisten Fällen, denen der Mehrspieler-Variante in nichts mehr nach. Um so erfreulicher ist es, dass, laut Ankündigungen, im gesamten Jahr 2021 eine geballte Menge an Solospielen auf Kickstarter darauf warten, vom Crowd finanziert zu werden. Eine Auswahl von spannenden Brettspiel-Titeln, für die ersten Monate des Jahres, findet ihr in diesem Beitrag!


Es gibt viele Gründe dafür, alleine Brettspiele zu spielen. Ganz vorne steht zur Zeit die Covid-Pandemie und die damit verbundene Gefahr, sich und seine Mitspieler mit dem Virus anzustecken. Doch auch alltägliche Gründe können dazu führen, dass das Solospielen zu einer praktischen Alternative wird. Sei es ein unregelmäßiger Dienstplan, der das Planen von Spieltreffen schwierig gestaltet oder die Entfernung zu möglichen Spielpartnern.

Einzelspielerspiele passen sich jeder Lebenssituation an

Eine Solopartie auf dem Spielbrett bedeutet dabei vor allem, sich ganz auf seine eigenen Wünsche konzentrieren zu können. Das Thema des Spiels, die Mechanismen, die Tageszeit der Session, all das muss nicht mehr mit anderen Spielern abgestimmt werden. Selbst Unterbrechungen stören den Spielfluss nicht mehr so sehr, denn das Spiel kann einfach, zu einer beliebigen Zeit, fortgesetzt werden. Die Vorteile eines Brettspiels mit Einzelspieler-Variante liegen somit auf der Hand und überzeugen selbst Skeptiker.

Einziger Wermutstropfen: Die soziale Komponente fehlt hierbei komplett, denn auch eine künstliche Intelligenz als Gegner lässt nicht das typische Flair eines Spieltreffs mit netten Mitspielern aufkommen. Das tolle an den meisten Brettspielen ist dabei, dass sich die Solo- und Mehrspielervariante nicht gegenseitig ausschließt und meist sogar in ein Brettspiel integriert wird.

Solospiele im ersten Quartal 2021 auf Kickstarter

Darwin’s Journey, von dem Publisher Thundergryph Games und den Entwicklern Simone Luciani und Nestore Mangone, ist ein Brettspiel für ein bis vier Spieler.

In dem Worker-Placement und Eurospiel durchlebt der Spieler die Erinnerungen von Darwins Reise zu den Galapagos Inseln und hilft bei der Entwicklung der Evolutionstheorie. Zu Darwin’s Journey haben wir bereits in einem ausfürlicheren Beitrag berichtet, ihr erreicht diesen ganz einfach über den eingefügten Link.

Starttag auf Kickstarter: 6. Januar

Das Brettspiel Darwins Journey läuft aktuell bei Kickstarter und handelt von der Evolutionstheorie. Bild: Thundergyph Games
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Das Brettspiel Darwins Journey läuft aktuell bei Kickstarter und handelt von der Evolutionstheorie. Bild: Thundergyph Games

Tinners‘ Trail, von dem Publisher Alley Cat Games und dem Designer Martin Wallace, ist ein Spiel für ein bis fünf Spieler. Die Neuauflage des beliebten Titels, aus dem Jahre 2008 ,wurde komplett überarbeitet.

Das Eurospiel spielt im Cornwall des 19. Jahrhunderts und der Spieler schlüpft in die Rolle eines Bergbaukonglomerat, zum Höhepunkt des Zinn- und Kupferbergbaus. Hier muss das eigene Kapital verwaltet und Grundstücke in Auktionen erworben werden, die anschließend auf Zinn und Kupfervorkommen untersuchen werden müssen.

Starttag auf Kickstarter: 11. Januar

Pingyao: First Chinese Banks, von dem Publisher Nithrania und dem Designer Wu Shuang, ist ein Brettspiel für ein bis vier Spieler. In dem Würfel- und Worker-Placement-Spiel mit Wirtschaftsthema schlüpft der Spieler in die Rolle eines Jin-Händlers in der Qing-Dynastie.

Im Spielverlauf müssen Gewinne erzielt werden, indem Agenturen in ganz China expandieren können und wichtigen Geschäftsleuten Dienstleistungen angeboten werden. Das Ziel von Pingyao: Nichts weniger als Reichtum.

Starttag auf Kickstarter: 12. Januar

Fallen Land: Descendants, von dem Publisher Fallen Dominion Studios und den Designern Jon Lonngren und Sean Cahill, ist ein Brettspiel für ein bis sechs Spieler.

In der Erweiterung zu „Fallen Land: A Post Apocalyptic Board Game“ kämpft der Spieler um die Vorherrschaft über das Ödland. Hier zählen Führungsstärke, Management und Überleben. Die Erweiterung wartet dabei mit einer neuen Stadttechnologie, neuen Spielchips, Karten und Spielvarianten auf.

Auch interessant:
Pegasus Spiele: Brettspiel-Neuheiten 2021 für Kenner und Experten

Starttag auf Kickstarter: 12. Januar

Fallen Land: Descendants ist die Erweiterung zu Fallen Land: A Post-Apocalyptic Board Game Bild: Fallen Dominion Studios
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Fallen Land: Descendants ist die Erweiterung zu Fallen Land: A Post-Apocalyptic Board Game Bild: Fallen Dominion Studios

Primal: The Awakening, von dem Publisher Reggie Games und den Designern Tommaso Mondadori und Alberto Parisi, ist ein Spiel für ein bis vier Spieler. Das Kampagnenspiel, mit Monsterjagd-Thema und Miniaturen als Spielfiguren, spielt in einer Fantasywelt, in der der Spieler um das Überleben in der rauen Wildnis kämpft. Dazu schlüpft er in die Rolle eines Jägers, der gegen so manche gefährliche Kreatur antreten muss. Mit dem Ziel vor seinem Auge: Die Geheimnisse seiner Herkunft zu lüften.

Starttag auf Kickstarter: 19. Januar

Maeshowe: an Orkney Saga, von dem Publisher Dragon Dawn Productions und aus der Feder der Designer Lee Broderick und Nikolas Lundström Patrakka, ist ein Brettspiel für ein bis zwei Spieler.

Die Geschichte von Maeshowe basiert auf den wahren Geschichten um die Wikinger Earl Rognvald, Kali Kolsson und Earl Harald Maddadson. Diese brachen im 12. Jahrhundert in das Grab von Maeshowe auf Orkney ein, als sie auf einer Schatzsuche waren. In der Rolle dieser Männer, versuchen ein bis zwei Spieler sich aus dem Grab zu befreien, bevor sie ihrem Hunger zum Opfer fallen oder drohen durchzudrehen.

Starttag auf Kickstarter: Voraussichtlich 21. Januar

Maeshowe: Orkney Saga erzählt die wahre Geschichte von mutigen Wikingern. Bild: Dragon Dawn Productions
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Maeshowe: Orkney Saga erzählt die wahre Geschichte von mutigen Wikingern. Bild: Dragon Dawn Productions

Core Worlds: Empires, von dem Publisher Quixotic Games und den Designern Christopher Guild und Andrew Parks, ist ein Brettspiel für ein bis fünf Spieler.

Das Worker Placement spielt in den Weiten der Galaxie. Deren sechs variable Königreiche von dem Spieler, als Führer von Botschaftern (Arbeitern), besucht werden müssen, um eines unter seine Kontrolle zu bringen. Mit dem Spielziel: Die stärkste Herrschaft im Kosmos zu werden. Während des Spielverlaufs geht es dabei konfliktreich zur Sache.

Starttag auf Kickstarter: 1. Februar

Eternal Palace, von dem Publisher Alley Cat Games und dem Designer Steven Aramini, bekannt durch beliebte Titel wie Sprawlopolis, ist ein Spiel für ein bis fünf Spieler.

Das Euro-Würfel- und Ressourcen-Sammel-Spiel, lässt den Spieler in die Rolle eines Künstlers schlüpfen, der seinem Kaiser beim Wiederaufbau seines Palastes helfen soll, der durch ein schlimmes Erdbeben zerstört wurde. Hier heißt es, Ressourcen sammeln, Denkmäler wieder aufbauen und Kunstwerke für den Kaiser erschaffen. Mit dem Ziel: Die Gunst des Kaisers zu erlangen.

Starttag auf Kickstarter: Voraussichtlich im ersten Quartal

Long Shot: The Dice Game, von dem Publisher Perplext und dem Designer Chris Handy, ist ein Push-your-Luck- und Strategie-Spiel für ein bis acht Spieler. In Long Shot findet sich der Spieler in einem Pferderennen wieder.

Seine Aufgaben: Pferde kaufen,Wetten platzieren, das Rennen beeinflussen und spezielle Fähigkeiten einsetzen. Der geworfene Würfelwert bestimmt dabei, welche Pferde sich bewegen dürfen und welche Spielzug-Optionen verfügbar sind. Ziel des Spiel ist es: Möglichst viel Geld zu besitzen.

Starttag auf Kickstarter: Voraussichtlich im ersten Quartal

Long Shot: Dice Game ein Spiel rund um die Pferderennbahn. Bild: Perplext
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Long Shot: Dice Game – Ein Spiel rund um die Pferderennbahn und das Wetten. Bild: Perplext

Paper Company, von dem Publisher Flannel Games und dem Designer Brent Keath, ist ein Würfelspiel für ein bis sechs Spieler. Hier führt der Spieler sein eigenes Papierunternehmen. Im Spielverlauf muss er dabei die Wirtschaft im Auge behalten, Mitarbeiter einstellen und für eine gute Arbeitsmoral sorgen.

Dabei zählt der Grundsatz: Je höher ein geworfener Würfelwert ist, desto besser ist die wirtschaftliche Lage seines Unternehmens und seiner ausgeführten Aktionen (Moral, Buchhaltung, Einkauf, Verkauf und Rekrutierung). Paper Company enthält sechs verschiedene Papierunternehmen und 40 verschiedene Mitarbeiter, damit soll der Spielspaß über längere Zeit erhalten bleiben.

Starttag auf Kickstarter: Voraussichtlich im ersten Quartal


Letzte Aktualisierung am 24.01.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API