Diablo 2 Resurrected continues to cause stress in the community. Blizzard improves, fans are still angry. Apparently persistent server problems seem to be spoiling the fun for many gamers. Everything could have been so beautiful: 

The new edition of the action role-playing game was largely rated well by critics, and we also certified Diablo 2 Resurrected quality, if even with some drawbacks. The game was released at the end of September and has been in discussion since then - not necessarily all positive, however. Server problems, never-ending queues and difficulties playing with friends: the list of problems fans have now accumulated is long.

Diablo 2 Resurrected: Tense mood in the forum

The user score on Metacritic is 3,3, despite the many good ratings. There, too, a kind of battle between two camps has apparently broken out: Some like Diablo 2 Resurrected and wait patiently for the improvements, others are annoyed around a month and a half after the release. Ratings of ten and ratings in the area around zero alternate. Total satisfaction looks different. The mood in the official forum is also tense. There, players complain of their suffering: “I cannot join friends' games,” they say. Or: “The loading times are too long”. Or: “Pindle runs are not possible”. Also the Item farms so it seems to have caught it. Some even complain of problems with magic finding.

Overall, these are mostly mistakes that Blizzard could iron out - and probably will. It wasn't until the patch at the end of October that the developers eliminated some of the causes of crashes, among other things, and improved them again with today's patch, including with regard to joining the game.

Diablo 2 Resurrected was not as badly received by critics as it was with users at the moment: There were ratings in the range of 80 points, measured on a 100-point scale. And apparently the players have their share in the fact that the Diablo 2 remake feels so completely different than it did back then - at least that's what Blizzard thinks. The players would apply today's standards, Diablo 2 simply play “too modern”. Lots of boss and item runs, in quick succession, that would have overloaded the server. That wasn't an issue in 2000: Yes, bosses were farmed back then too (Pindle, Mephi), but more relaxed than today - and above all not with the mass of players. Time factor? In the 56k modem era, that was only a limited issue.

The criticism of the fans shows how much time plays a role. This is primarily aimed at everything that has to do with waiting times: the queues are too long, the loading bars too slow, races require too much stamina, you sometimes have to restart Diablo 2 Resurrected, the server twitches - with a little more patience everyone would be the problems probably only half as bad. Nevertheless, the following applies: A modern game must be measured against modern players. Technical problems need to be mended and servers should run smoothly. In the meantime, players had even asked for the title - similar to Cyberpunk 2077 - to be removed from the Playstation store.

And something else is different than it was a little more than twenty years ago: Nowadays, games are a great way to make money. Ebay is now bursting at the seams in view of the items on offer there. Because bots are also used for farming, fans are correspondingly angry. With Diablo 2 Resurrected, it's not the one factor that causes problems, but a mix of technical inadequacies and a changing game environment.

It is also noticeable that it is not the gameplay elements that are criticized, because everything seems to fit there overall. Above all, that's a shame for Blizzard, where after the messed up Warcraft 3 Reforged they had actually adjusted themselves to a success for Diablo 2 Resurrected and wanted to do better. After all, in the meantime, with all the anger, there is also signs of relaxation: fans here and there agree to conciliatory notes, wait for patches and make the best of the situation, which has meanwhile improved.

The studio no longer has the flawless reputation of yesteryear, but it is still one of the most popular in the world. But: After the sexism scandals in-house, now Overwatch 2 and Diablo 4 postponed, which also caused some displeasure. It seems like Activision-Blizzard has it in their own hands to ensure a happy ending in their own story.


Author

Last updated on 4.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Diablo 2 Resurrected sorgt weiterhin für Stress in der Community. Blizzard bessert nach, Fans sind dennoch sauer. Offenbar anhaltende Server-Probleme scheinen viele Spielern den Spaß zu verderben. Dabei hätte alles so schön sein können: 

Die Neuauflage des Action-Rollenspiels wurde von Kritikern überwiegend gut bewertet, auch wir bescheinigten Diablo 2 Resurrected Qualität, wenn auch mit Abstrichen. Ende September ist das Spiel erschienen, und seitdem im Gespräch – nicht unbedingt nur positiv allerdings. Server-Probleme, nicht enden wollende Warteschlangen und Schwierigkeiten, mit Freunde zusammen zu spielen: die Problemliste, die Fans inzwischen angehäuft haben ist lang.

Diablo 2 Resurrected: Angespannte Stimmung im Forum

Auf Metacritic liegt der User-Score bei 3,3, trotz vielfach guter Bewertungen. Auch dort ist offenbar eine Art Kampf zwischen zwei Lagern ausgebrochen: Die einen mögen Diablo 2 Resurrected und warten geduldig auf die Nachbesserungen, die anderen sind rund anderthalb Monate nach Release genervt. Zehner-Wertungen und Bewertungen im Bereich um Null wechseln sich ab. Völlige Zufriedenheit sieht anders aus. Auch die Stimmung im offiziellen Forum ist angespannt. Dort klagen Spieler ihre Leiden: “Ich kann Spiele von Freunden nicht beitreten”, heißt es. Oder: “Die Ladezeiten sind zu lang”. Oder: “Pindle-Runs sind nicht möglich”. Auch die Item-Farmen scheint es also erwischt zu haben. Manch einer klagt sogar über Probleme bei Magic-Finding.

Insgesamt handelt es sich meist um Fehler, die Blizzard ausbügeln könnte – und das voraussichtlich auch tun wird. Erst mit dem Patch Ende Oktober hatten die Entwickler unter anderem einige Absturzursachen beseitigt und mit dem heutigen Patch erneut nachgebessert, unter anderem bezüglich der Spielbeitritte.

So schlecht wie bei den Usern derzeit kam Diablo 2 Resurrected rein spielerisch bei Kritikern nicht an: Dort hagelte es Bewertungen im Bereich um 80 Punkte, gemessen an einer 100er-Skala. Und offenbar haben auch die Spieler ihren Anteil daran, dass die Diablo 2-Neuauflage sich so völlig anders anfühlt als damals – das zumindest meint Blizzard. Die Spieler würden heutige Standards ansetzen, Diablo 2 einfach “zu modern” spielen. Haufenweise Boss- und Item-Runs, in schneller Folge, genau das hätte die Server überlastet. Anno 2000 war das noch kein Thema: Ja, auch damals hatte man Bosse abgefarmt (Pindle, Mephi), allerdings entspannter als heute – und vor allem nicht mit der Masse an Spielern. Faktor Zeit? In der 56k-Modem-Ära war das nur bedingt ein Thema.

Wie sehr die Zeit eine Rolle spielt, zeigt die Kritik der Fans. Die richtet sich nämlich vorrangig an alles, was mit Wartezeiten zu tun hat: Die Warteschlangen seien zu lang, die Ladebalken zu langsam, Rennen verbrauche zu viel Ausdauer, man müssen Diablo 2 Resurrected manchmal neustarten, der Server zuckt – mit etwas mehr Geduld wären all die Probleme vermutlich nur halb so schlimm. Dennoch gilt: Ein modernes Spiel muss sich an modernen Spielern messen lassen müssen. Technische Probleme sind auszubessern und Server sollten rund laufen. Zwischenzeitlich hatten Spieler sogar gefordert, den Titel – ähnlich Cyberpunk 2077 – aus dem Playstation-Store zu entfernen.

Und noch etwas ist anders als vor etwas mehr als zwanzig Jahren: Mit Spielen lässt sich heute wunderbar Kasse machen. Ebay platzt inzwischen angesichts der dort angebotenen Items aus allen Nähten. Weil auch Bots zum Farmen eingesetzt werden, sind Fans entsprechend sauer. Es ist bei Diablo 2 Resurrected nicht der eine Faktor, der Probleme verursacht, sondern ein Mix aus technischen Unzulänglichkeiten und einer sich verändernden Spielumgebung.

Auffällig ist auch: Es sind gar nicht die Gameplay-Elemente, an denen Kritik geübt wird, dort scheint nämlich insgesamt alles zu passen. Vor allem das ist schade für Blizzard, wo man sich nach dem verkorksten Warcraft 3 Reforged eigentlich auf einen Erfolg um Diablo 2 Resurrected eingestellt hatte, es besser machen wollte. Immerhin zeichnet sich bei all dem Ärger inzwischen auch Entspannung ab: Fans stimmen hier und da versöhnliche Töne an, warten auf Patches und machen das beste aus der zwischenzeitlich verbesserten Situation.

Den makellosen Ruf von einst hat das Studio längst nicht mehr, dennoch gehört es zu den beliebtesten weltweit. Aber: Nach den Sexismusskandalen im eigenen Haus wurden nun Overwatch 2 und Diablo 4 verschoben, was teils ebenfalls für Unmut sorgte. Es scheint, als hätte Activision-Blizzard es selbst in der Hand, in der eigenen Geschichte für ein Happy End zu sorgen.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 28.11.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API