Board Game Arena is part of the Asmodee family. In other words: The publishing house, based in Essen, Germany, has bought the game platform. The Asmodee Group with its subsidiary Asmodee Digital had long since not only put one foot in the door of digital board games, but had long since entered the room. With the acquisition of the Board Game Arena, the company now wants to “drive innovations worldwide”. Fans and platform founders alike should be delighted, among other things because the “Arena” will now receive significantly more attention.


Playing board games digitally together is the basic idea behind the Board Game Arena platform, which is now part of the Asmodee Group. In 2020, Grégory Isabelli and Emmanuel Colin created the online offering, which has since developed into the market leader in the segment. Instead of 3D graphics including physical effects, such as those found in the tabletop simulator, the Board Game Arena relies on a simpler look, more in the 2D area.

Faster access to Asmodee titles

Much does not change with the acquisition: As Asmodee Germany reports, the Board Game Arena will remain as an independent unit. Both pricing and stock selection are in the hands of the founders. With the acquisition of the platform, there will be more than just Asmodee board games there in the future.

Nevertheless: One reason for the move is likely to be able to bring the publisher's own game titles to the digital platform more quickly. The "release of the successful Asmodee titles that players have long been waiting for" will be accelerated at Board Game Arena, according to the publisher.

The game platform includes more than 250 official online implementations of games, supported in 40 languages. The Board Game Arena has more than five million members worldwide. Board games from Asmodee and sales partners were also available before the purchase: The constantly updated range includes titles such as Carcassonne by Hans im Glück, Jaipur by Space Cowboys or 7 Wonders by Repos.

Asmodee is also enjoying success in the digital sector with its classics: According to the publisher, 7 Wonders has been played over four million times since the adaptation was published in 2018.

Since its inception, the “Arena” has grown continuously. In 2020, the platform was able to - analogous to the growth in sales, among others at Ravensburger, Cosmos, Hasbro or Asmodee - Record a growth of 600 percent. For the Asmodee group a “clear sign of enthusiasm for board games, be it with the family or at a distance”.

In order to expand the market position and drive development, the management of the Board Game Arena decided to join Asmodee, the publisher explains. Both companies have known each other for a long time and this step enables Asmodee to accelerate the availability of its important titles on the platform.

Asmodee and partner titles were already available. Image: BGA

Asmodee and partner titles were already available. Image: BGA

Founding duo Grégory Isabelli and Emmanuel Colin comment: “Working with Asmodee allows us to continue our massive growth with a partner who shares our love and passion for board games. For us, Asmodee fulfills a "sine qua non" criterion: that BGA always belongs to absolute board game fans whose core business is board games. "

At Asmodee, too, the strategy revolves around a central thought: “Our growth is based on a core idea: to offer the best gaming experience and to bring our titles to the largest possible audience,” says Thomas Koegler, Head of Strategy at Asmodee. A platform that enables players from all over the world to meet and play their favorite games together or discover new titles is a “perfect match for our impressive portfolio of board games”.

We are already looking to the future. Skull and Splendor should be made available on the platform in the next few weeks. However, this is only a first step, as can be seen from the information provided by Asmodee. The two games will be “the first in a long list of Asmodee games to be released on the platform”.


Author

Last updated on 26.11.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Board Game Arena gehört zur Asmodee-Familie. Mit anderen Worten: Der Verlag mit dem deutschen Sitz in Essen hat die Spiele-Plattform gekauft. Längst hatte Die Asmodee-Gruppe mit dem Tochterunternehmen Asmodee Digital nicht nur einen Fuß in die Tür digitaler Brettspiele gestellt, sondern den Raum längst betreten. Mit dem Erwerb der Board Game Arena will man nun „weltweit Innovationen vorantreiben“. Freuen dürfte das Fans wie Plattformgründer gleichermaßen, unter anderem, weil die „Arena“ nun eine deutlich höhere Aufmerksamkeit bekommen wird.


Digital zusammen Brettspiele spielen, das ist die grundlegende Idee der Plattform Board Game Arena, die nun Teil der Asmodee-Gruppe ist. Im Jahr 2020 schufen Grégory Isabelli und Emmanuel Colin das Online-Angebot, das sich inzwischen zum Marktführer in dem Segment entwickelt hat. Statt auf 3D-Grafiken samt physikalischer Effekte, wie es sie etwa beim Tabletop Simulator gibt, setzt man bei der Board Game Arena auf eine simplere Optik, eher angesiedelt im 2D-Bereich.

Schnellerer Zugang zu Asmodee-Titeln

Viel ändert sich mit dem Erwerb zunächst nicht: Wie Asmodee Deutschland mitteilt, bleibt die Board Game Arena als unabhängige Einheit erhalten. Sowohl die Preisgestaltung als auch die Titelauswahl liegen in den Händen der Gründer. Es wird also mit dem Erwerb der Plattform auch zukünftig mehr als nur Asmodee-Brettspiele dort geben.

Dennoch: Ein Grund für den Schachzug dürfte sein, verlagseigene Spieletitel schneller auf die digitale Plattform bringen zu können. Die „Veröffentlichung der erfolgreichen Asmodee-Titel, auf die Spieler schon lange warten“ werde auf Board Game Arena beschleunigt, so der Verlag.

Die Spiele-Plattform umfasst mehr als 250 offizielle Online-Umsetzungen von Spielen, unterstützt in 40 Sprachen. Weltweit hat die Board Game Arena mehr als fünf Millionen Mitglieder. Auch vor dem Erwerb waren Brettspiele von Asmodee und Vertriebspartnern verfügbar: Zu dem laufend aktualisierten Angebot gehören Titel wie Carcassonne von Hans im Glück, Jaipur von Space Cowboys oder 7 Wonders von Repos.

Mit den Klassikern hat Asmodee auch im digitalen Sektor Erfolg: So wurde 7 Wonders laut Verlag seit der Veröffentlichung der Adaption im Jahr 2018, über vier Millionen Mal gespielt.

Seit seiner Gründung wuchs die „Arena“ kontinuierlich. Im Jahr 2020 konnte die Plattform – analog zu den Umsatzzuwächsen unter anderem bei Ravensburger, Kosmos, Hasbro oder Asmodee – ein Wachstum von 600 Prozent verzeichnen.  Für die Asmodee-Gruppe ein „klares Zeichen der Begeisterung für Brettspiele, sei es im Kreis der Familie oder auf Distanz“.

Um die Marktstellung auszubauen und die Entwicklung voranzutreiben, habe das Management der Board Game Arena entschieden, sich Asmodee anzuschließen, erklärt der Verlag. Beide Firmen seien bereits länger miteinander bekannt und dieser Schritt ermöglich es Asmodee, die Verfügbarkeit seiner wichtigen Titel auf der Plattform zu beschleunigen.

Titel von Asmodee und Partnern waren bereits verfügbar. Bild: BGA
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Titel von Asmodee und Partnern waren bereits verfügbar. Bild: BGA

Das Gründer-Duo Grégory Isabelli und Emmanuel Colin kommentieren: „Mit Asmodee zusammenzuarbeiten, erlaubt es uns, unser massives Wachstum fortzusetzen, mit einem Partner, der unsere Liebe und Passion für Brettspiele teilt. Asmodee erfüllt für uns ein „sine qua non“-Kriterium: das BGA immer absoluten Brettspiel-Fans gehört, deren Kerngeschäft Brettspiele sind.“

Auch interessant:
Gran Turismo 7: Release nicht vor 2022

Auch bei Asmodee kreist die Strategie um einen zentralen Gedanken: „Unser Wachstum basiert auf einem Kerngedanken: die besten Spiel-Erfahrungen zu bieten und unsere Titel zu einem größtmöglichen Publikum zu bringen“, sagt Thomas Koegler, Head of Strategy bei Asmodee. Eine Plattform, die es Spieler auf der ganzen Welt ermögliche, sich zu treffen und zusammen ihre Lieblingsspiele zu spielen oder neue Titel zu entdecken, sei ein „perfektes Match für unser beeindruckendes Portfolio an Brettspielen“.

Der Blick geht bereits in die Zukunft. In den nächsten Wochen soll Skull und Splendor auf der Plattform verfügbar gemacht werden. Das ist allerdings nur ein erster Schritt, wie den Angaben von Asmodee zu entnehmen ist. Die beiden Spiele werden „die ersten Titel einer langen Liste von Asmodee-Spielen sein, die auf der Plattform veröffentlicht werden“.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 28.02.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API