A board game with the subtitle “Kingdoms: Shadow of Elvarg” is to be released for the MMO classic Runescape – whether this ultimately works depends on a crowdfunding campaign that Ver Verlag Steamforged Games will start in May. In the meantime, the exact date for the start of the financing has also been set: it is May 31st.

As an MMORPG, Runescape has been around for many years. 201 appeared the title of the British developer and publisher Jagex Games Studio. The servers continue to run, even if the number of players is now only around half a million. This shouldn't hide the fact that Runescape has created many millions of accounts over the years.

Runescape: Shadow of Elvarg on Kickstarter

It had long been known that Steamforged Games Kingdoms: Shadow of Elvarg would be crowdfunded on Kickstarter. So far, however, it has been unclear when the campaign to finance the board game will be launched. Now there is an official date: the planned launch is scheduled for May 31st. From then on it will be a matter of activating the supporters and MMO fans to make money for Runescape: Shadow of Elvarg loose - given the tense situation worldwide, this could be a challenge.

Steamforged Games had already announced the board game Runescape Kingdoms: Shadow of Elvarg at the beginning of the year and parallel to it Tabletop RPG. The Jagex Games Studio license is therefore used twice. While the pen-and-paper offshoot should appear directly in stores sometime in 2022, the board game must first go through a funding round on Kickstarter. You can already make a note of the title there, and Steamforged Games also shows a draft of the game box there. You can see a hero in front of a gigantic female dragon: "Elvarg". She was already the strongest in the game at times as a level 110 boss in the template. For the board game, the dragon should now serve as the final boss. In the absence of further information, it is unclear how this will look on the board game table.

However, players can assume that there will be many references to Runescape and its old-school offshoot, at least that's what other video game board games from Steamforged Games that have done it similarly suggest. The publisher has previously implemented licensed board games for Monster Hunter, Dark Souls or Resident Evil and is considered experienced in this regard. In terms of gameplay, you will be able to improve your skills as the story campaign progresses, without being tied to classes right from the start. Accordingly, the miniatures also serve as "covers" or just avatars that you have to design playfully. Ultimately, Runescape Kingdoms: Shadow of Elvarg shouldn't be too challenging either. Steamforged Games apparently plans to have a story experience at its core.

Runescape Kingdoms: Shadow of Elvarg will be a cooperative board game for up to five players, with the option of playing the title in solo mode. The Kickstarter campaign will start on May 31st and will then run for ten days. It is unclear how Steamforged Games priced the financing.

Preview Product Rating Price
Runescape: The First 20 Years--An Illustrated History Runescape: The First 20 Years--An Illustrated History * 33,99 EUR

Author

Last updated on 5.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Zu dem MMO-Klassiker Runescape soll ein Brettspiel mit dem Untertitel “Kingdoms: Shadow of Elvarg” erscheinen – ob das letztendlich klappt, hängt zunächst von einer Crowdfunding-Kampagne ab, die Ver Verlag Steamforged Games noch im Mai starten wird. Inzwischen steht auch das exakte Datum für den Beginn der Finanzierung fest: es ist der 31. Mai.

Runescape hat als MMORPG bereits viele Jahre auf dem Buckel. 201 erschien der Titel des britischen Entwicklers und Publishers Jagex Games Studio. Die Server laufen weiterhin, auch wenn die Spielerzahlen inzwischen bei nur noch rund einer halben Million liegen. Das soll nicht darüber hinweg täusche, dass bei Runescape im Laufe der Jahre viele Millionen Accounts erstellt worden sind.

Runescape: Shadow of Elvarg auf Kickstarter

Dass Steamforged Games Kingdoms: Shadow of Elvarg auf Kickstarter als Crowdfunding starten würde, war längst bekannt. Unklar war bislang allerdings, wann man die Kampagne zur Finanzierung des Brettspiels ans Laufen bringen wird. Nun gibt es ein offizielles Datum: für den 31. Mai ist der geplante Launch angepeilt. Ab dann wird es darum gehen, die Unterstützer und MMO-Fans zu aktivieren, um Geld für Runescape: Shadow of Elvarg locker zu machen – angesichts der weltweit angespannt Lage könnte das eine Herausforderung werden.

Steamforged Games hatte das Brettspiel Runescape Kingdoms: Shadow of Elvarg bereits zum Jahresbeginn angekündigt und parallel dazu ein Tabletop-Rollenspiel. Die Lizenz von Jagex Games Studio nutzt man also gleich doppelt. Während der Pen-and-Paper-Ableger irgendwann in 2022 direkt im Handel erscheinen soll, muss das Brettspiel vorher durch eine Finanzierungsrunde auf Kickstarter. Vormerken kann man sich den Titel dort bereits, und auch einen Entwurf der Spieleschachtel zeigt Steamforged Games dort. Zu sehen ist ein Held vor einem gigantischen weiblichen Drachen: “Elvarg”. Sie war bereits in der Vorlage als Stufe-110-Boss der zeitweise stärkste im Spiel. Für das Brettspiel soll die Drachin nun als Endboss herhalten. Unklar ist mangels weitere Informationen, wie das auf dem Brettspieltisch aussehen wird.

Spieler dürfen allerdings davon ausgehen, dass man viele Verweise auf Runescape und seinen Oldschool-Ableger finden wird, das legen zumindest andere Videospiel-Brettspiele von Steamforged Games nahe, bei denen man es ähnlich gehandhabt hatte. Der Verlag hat zuvor Lizenz-Brettspiele zu Monster Hunter, Dark Souls oder Resident Evil umgesetzt und gilt in dieser Hinsicht als erfahren. Spieltechnisch wird man im Verlauf der Story-Kampagne seine Fertigkeiten verbessern können, und zwar ohne von Beginn an an Klassen gebunden zu sein. Entsprechend dienen auch die Miniaturen als “Hüllen” beziehungsweise leidiglich Avatare, die man spielerisch ausgestalten muss. Allzu herausfordernd soll Runescape Kingdoms: Shadow of Elvarg letztendlich auch nicht werden. Steamforged Games plant offenbar im Kern eine Story-Erfahrung.

Runescape Kingdoms: Shadow of Elvarg wird ein kooperatives Brettspiel für bis zu fünf Spieler, wahlweise wird man den Titel auch in einem Solomodus spielen können. Die Kickstarter-Kampagne startet am 31. Mai und soll dann für zehn Tage laufen. Unklar ist, wie Steamforged Games die Finanzierung preislich angesetzt hat.

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Runescape: The First 20 Years--An Illustrated History Runescape: The First 20 Years--An Illustrated History * 32,99 EUR

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 25.05.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API