Zauberberg by Jens-Peter Schliemann and Bernhard Weber is the children's game of the year 2022. That was decided and announced by the jury of the "Spiel des Jahres" association. The title published by Verlag Amigo Siele is about sorcerers' apprentices and will-o'-the-wisps - but above all about the long-running marble run.

For the first time after a two-year break due to the corona virus, the association again organized the award ceremony for the children's game of the year as a public event. As before in 2019, we were invited to the former main customs office in Hamburg. The pandemic has not left the work of the children's game jury and the industry untouched: ""The pandemic has made the work of children's game authors much more demanding, because with kindergartens and primary schools constantly closed, it is almost impossible to play games with the broad Testing the masses necessary to bring out a well-rounded, well-functioning and exciting product.” There were only around 70 games in the current year, which according to Schlewinski was “insanely small”.

Evergreen ball track

In the end, Spiel des Jahres eV was able to make its decision and broadcast the award ceremony on the Internet. Suddenly the live broadcast started, surprising the Kinderspiel jury coordinator Christoph Schlewsinski when it started. The beginning: emotional. Schlewinski remembered Wieland Herold, who died in April of this year. The veteran of the board game industry initiated the "Children's Game of the Year" award more than 20 years ago. Herold was also a jury coordinator for many years. "Thank you, Wieland," says Schlewinski.

Then it was about the children's games themselves and their authors. A "very demanding task" is to develop children's games. Perhaps even more challenging than authoring "brain-twisting three-hour games," Schlewinski says. One reason: The feedback from the complex players is much more detailed due to the target groups. One can only hope to a limited extent for an analysis by the children playing - that applies to the development, but also to the testing of children's games. "That's why you have to read between the lines," explains Christoph Schlewinski.

Observing the children plays an important role: how do the youngest players behave? How often do they wobble around the table? Are the children maybe even happy when it's over? Adults are faced with the challenge of deriving the extent of the fun in the game because they can only experience it to a limited extent or passively. External factors also play a role: children's games could also be popular because they are currently being "promoted in a children's program".

"Authors of children's games have to be very empathetic," says Schlewinski, "and have a good antenna for the target group". This obviously applies to the authors Jens-Peter Schliemann and Bernhard Weber, but also to Wolfgang Warsch, who entered the race with two titles. With Quacks & Co. to Quedlinburg, Auch schon clever and Zauberberg made up the trio of nominees – but in the end only one board game was able to win the “Children’s Game of the Year 2022” award.

Magic Mountain is Children's Game of the Year 2022

The jury chose Zauberberg by Amigo Spiele. The reasons given by the experts mainly revolve around the ball track mechanism. “It [the ball track] becomes the setting for a magical race – cooperatively, in teams or even alone”. The game structure attracts children to the gaming table. The "innovative marble mechanism" won't let go so quickly. The result is a "complete package that enchants all children again and again".

The focus is on shared moments as a counterpoint to hostilities, as jury coordinator Schlewinski points out. Thank you to the authors, editors and publishers. “Your work is immensely important”. This is not only the case for the industry, says the expert, but also for the children. Of course, this also applies, but not only to the children's game of the year 2022.

The competition was strong: Zauberberg by Jens-Peter Schliemann and Bernhard Weber prevailed over “Auchschoen clever” and Quacks and Co. to Quedlinburg, two child-friendly versions of popular family games. The marble run cooperation game was published by Amigo Spiele and is aimed at up to four children aged five and over. It also has a solo mode, so it can be played alone.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

Author

Last updated on 4.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Zauberberg von Jens-Peter Schliemann und Bernhard Weber ist das Kinderspiel des Jahres 2022. Das hat die Jury des Vereins „Spiel des Jahres“ entschieden und verkündet. Bei im im Verlag Amigo Siele erschienenen Titel geht es um Zauberlehrlinge und Irrlichter – vor allem aber um den Dauerbrenner Kugelbahn.

Zum ersten Mal nach zwei Jahren coronabedinter Pause hatte der Verein die Verleihung des Kinderspiel des Jahres-Preises wieder als Publikumsveranstaltung ausgerichtet. Wie zuvor im Jahr 2019 lud man in das ehemalige Hauptzollamt nach Hamburg ein. Spurlos vorbeigegangen ist die Pandemie an der Arbeit der Kinderspiel-Jury und der Branche auch weiterhin nicht: „„Die Pandemie machte die Arbeit von Kinderspielautorinnen und Autoren noch viel anspruchsvoller, denn mit ständig geschlossenen Kindergärten und Grundschulen ist es fast unmöglich, Spiele mit der breiten Masse zu testen, die nötig ist, um ein rundes, gut funktionierendes und spannendes Produkt heraus zu bringen.“ Lediglich rund 70 Spiele gab es in dem aktuellen Jahrgang , der damit laut Schlewinski „wahnsinnig klein“ ausfiel.

Dauerbrenner Kugelbahn

Der Spiel des Jahres e.V. hat am Ende seine Entscheidung fällen können und die Preisverleihung ins Internet übertragen. Plötzlich ging es los mit der Liveübertragung, deren Start den Kinderspiel-Jurykoordinator Christoph Schlewsinski überraschte. Der Beginn: Emotional. Schlewinski erinnerte an den im April diesen Jahres verstorbenen Wieland Herold. Das Urgestein der Brettspiel-Branche hatte den Preis „Kinderpiel des Jahres“ vor über 20 Jahren initiiert. Herold war zudem langjähriger Jury-Koordinator. „Danke, Wieland“, sagt Schlewinski.

Dann ging es um die Kinderspiele selbst sowie um deren Autorinnen und Autoren. Eine „sehr anspruchsvolle Aufgabe“ sei es, Kinderspiele zu entwickeln. Vielleicht sogar anspruchsvoller als die Autorenarbeit an „Gehirn verknotenden Drei-Stunden-Spielen“, meint Schlewinski. Ein Grund: Das Feedback falle bei den komplexen Spieler aufgrund der Zielgruppen deutlich detaillierter aus. Man könne nur bedingt auf eine Analyse durch die mitspielenden Kinder hoffen – das gelte für die Entwicklung, aber auch das Testen von Kinderspielen. „Deshalb muss man zwischen den Zeilen lesen“, erklärt Christoph Schlewinski.

Der Beobachtung der Kinder kommt eine große Rolle zu: Wie verhalten sich die jüngsten Spieler? Wie oft wibbeln sie am Tisch herum? Sind die Kinder vielleicht sogar froh, wenn es vorbei ist? Erwachsene stehen vor der Herausforderung, das Ausmaß des Spielspaßes herzuleiten, weil sie es selbst nur bedingt oder passiv erleben können. Auch externe Faktoren spielen eine Rolle: So könnten Kinderspiele auch deshalb angesagt sein, weil sie aktuelle in einer „Kindersendung promotet“ werden.

„Kinderspielautorinnen- und autoren müssen sehr empathisch sein“, meint Schlewinski, „und eine gute Antenne zur Zielgruppe haben“. Auf die Autoren Jens-Peter Schliemann und Bernhard Weber, aber auch Wolfgang Warsch, der mit zwei Titeln ins Rennen ging, trifft das offensichtlich zu. Mit Quacks & Co. nach Quedlinburg, Auch schon clever und Zauberberg bildeten das Nominierten-Trio – den Preis „Kinderspiel des Jahres 2022“ konnte letztendlich aber nur eines Brettspiele gewinnen.

Zauberberg ist Kinderspiel des Jahres 2022

Die Wahl der Jury fiel auf Zauberberg von Amigo Spiele. Die Begründung der Experten dreht sich vor allem um den Kugelbahn-Mechanismus. „Sie [die Kugelbahn] wird zum Schauplatz für ein magisches Wettrennen – kooperativ, in Teams oder auch alleine“. Der Spielaufbau ziehe Kinder an den Spieltisch. Der „innovative Murmelmechanismus“ lasse sie so schnell nicht wieder los. Herausgekommen ist ein „Gesamtpaket, das alle Kinder immer wieder bezaubert“.

Der Fokus liegt auf gemeinsamen Momenten, als Gegenpol zu Anfeindungen, wie Jurykoordinator Schlewinski herausstellt. Der Dank gilt den Autoren, Redakteuren und Verlagen. „Ihre Arbeit ist immens wichtig“. Nicht nur für die Branche, meint der Experte, sondern auch für die Kinder sei das der Fall. Das gilt natürlich auch, aber nicht nur für das Kinderspiel des Jahres 2022.

Die Konkurrenz war stark: Zauberberg von Jens-Peter Schliemann und Bernhard Weber hat sich gegen „Auch schon clever“ und Quacks und Co nach Quedlinburg, zwei kindgerechten Versionen populärer Familienspiele, durchsetzen können. Das Kugelbahn-Kooperationsspiel ist bei Amigo Spiele erschienen und richtet sich an bis zu vier Kinder ab fünf Jahres. Es verfügt zudem über einen Solomodus, kann also auch alleine gespielt werden.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
AMIGO 02050 – Zauberberg, Kinderspiel des Jahres 2022 AMIGO 02050 – Zauberberg, Kinderspiel des Jahres 2022 * Aktuell keine Bewertungen 27,99 EUR

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 10.12.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API