The German Developer Award 2020 celebrated its premiere as a live stream. With success. Instead of a show full of embarrassment, there was game entertainment, talk and award ceremonies at an appealing presentation level. The show was hosted by Fabian Siegismund, Lara “Loft” Trautmann, Daniel “Budi” Budiman and Valentina Birke. The stars of the evening, however, were the developers, publishers and their video games. 


What ended in a kind of disaster for the games industry last year has turned out much better this time - despite Corona and the lack of an on-site audience. The German Developer Award celebrated its online show premiere as a live stream, and it was an all-round success. No Ina Müller, no embarrassment: this simple formula worked. The moderator led through the German Computer Game Award 2019, which failed.

Iron Harvest: Best German Computer game of the year

Instead, the organizers recruited industry experts to guide the online show: Fabian Siegismund, ex-Gamestar editor, who toughened himself up for his work as a front pig in front of the camera by making a guest appearance on the TV series Richter Alexander Hold; Lara “Loft” Trautmann, voice actress with her own let's play channel; Daniel "Budi" Budiman, moderator at Rocket Beans, connoisseur of the scene and charming clown, as well as Valentina Birke, whose heart beats for game culture and indie games. With all the joke: The composition of this round was the first big coup of the makers of the German Developer Award. The idea worked. The show was entertaining, games-oriented, and worthy of the industry. Chapeau!

Hats off to the numerous developers and publishers who have received awards for their achievements. The big winner is the Bremen studio King Art, which was able to clear several prizes, including the particularly prestigious one for the best German video game of the past year: the real-time strategy game "Iron Harvest". With awards in the categories “Best German Game”, “Best Game Design”, “Best Sound” and “Best Studio”, a total of four trophies went to Bremen.

“The nominees in the jury's ratings have rarely been so close together.”
Christian Müller, Managing Director of Aruba Events

The award ceremony, originally planned as a gala in December 2020, was postponed due to the corona pandemic and took place as an entertaining online show.

“The high quality of the entries is not only reflected in the excellent winning titles. The jury's vote was also particularly tight this year, ”said Christian Müller, Managing Director of Aruba Events GmbH, organizer of the German Developer Award. He is pleased that the outstanding achievements of the developers were recognized despite the corona pandemic and that the winners were also duly celebrated in the new livestream concept.

Because of Corona: The show took place for the first time as a live stream - there were still masks, for example in the direction. Photo: German Developer Award 2020

Corona: The show took place for the first time as a live stream - there were still masks, for example in the direction. Photo: German Developer Award 2020

What industry experts could almost guess has happened: Paintbucket Games has also won awards for that courageous game that addresses the resistance against National Socialism: "Through the darkest of times". The action takes place during the Third Reich; the concept convinced the 76 jurors. Paintbucket Games won the German Developer Award 2020 for “Best Story” and “Best Indie Game”.

Exciting and important: gaming without limits. The project sponsored by “congstar” received the special award for social commitment. Gaming and video games are more popular than ever, connecting people across cultures and age groups. But among the more than 2,5 billion gamers worldwide there are many who have difficult access to the world of games due to physical or mental limitations. For this reason, the mobile communications provider congstar has been supporting the project as part of its gaming activities since April 2020. The aim is to test video games for their accessibility together with inclusive youth groups.

In five weekly inclusive game tester groups, digital games and assistive technologies are tested in the Cologne area. Through targeted (media) educational methods and networked learning, taking into account individual skills, the participants should learn to appreciate the diversity of an inclusive community and specifically promote their strengths. The results of the tests are posted on the accessible project website www.gaming-without-borders.de made available to all interested parties.

Everyone involved is very happy about the award: “Promoting inclusion in the gaming area is a matter close to our hearts. It is nice to see that this is also meeting with approval in the industry ”, says Saskia Moes, project manager. “We never expected that our project would get so much attention so early. That of course encourages us all the more to make assessments on the website accessible to everyone, ”adds Julius Ricken, project member.

All winners of the German Developer Award 2020

  • Best German game
    Iron Harvest, developer: King Art GmbH, Bremen
  • Best studio - presented by the association “game”
    King Art GmbH, Bremen
  • Best publisher
    Assemble Entertainment GmbH, Wiesbaden
  • Best game design
    Iron Harvest, developer: King Art GmbH, Bremen
  • Best sound
    Iron Harvest, developer: King Art GmbH, Bremen
  • Best graphics
    SpellForce 3 - Fallen God, developer: Grimlore Games GmbH, Munich
  • Best story
    Through the Darkest of Times, developer: Paintbucket Games, Berlin
  • Best indie game
    Through the Darkest of Times, developer: Paintbucket Games, Berlin
  • Best mobile game
    High Rise, developer: smpl Games, Berlin
  • Innovation award - special award from the city of Cologne
    Jessika, developer: TriTrie Games UG, Cologne
  • Special award for social engagement - presented by Gaming-Aid
    Gaming without borders, ComputerProjekt Köln eV, Cologne
  • Most Wanted
    Everspace 2, developer: Rockfish Games GmbH, Hamburg
  • Long-running
    Anno (series), developer: Ubisoft GmbH, Mainz / Düsseldorf
  • Newcomer Award
    Whalien, developer: Forbidden Folds, Pischelsdorf (A)
  • Advancement award for young developers - Special prize for the Film and Media Foundation NRW
    Golden Orb, Witten

The German Developer Award is the oldest award for the development of outstanding computer games from German-speaking countries and has been awarded since 2004. The German Developer Award is supported by the state of North Rhine-Westphalia, the Film und Medienstiftung NRW and the “KölnBusiness” Wirtschaftsförderungs-GmbH. The partners of the German Developer Award 2020 are Making Games, Ubisoft and game - Association of the German Games Industry.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video


Preview Product Rating Price
Iron Harvest (PC) Iron Harvest (PC) * 19,99 EUR

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Der Deutsche Entwicklerpreis 2020 hat seine Premiere als Live-Stream gefeiert. Mit Erfolg. Statt Show voller Peinlichkeiten gab es Games-Entertainment, Talk und Siegerehrungen auf ansprechendem Präsentationsniveau. Durch die Show führten Fabian Siegismund, Lara „Loft“ Trautmann, Daniel „Budi“ Budiman und Valentina Birke. Die Stars des Abends waren allerdings die Entwickler, Publisher und ihre Videospiele. 


Was im vergangenen Jahr noch in eine Art Desaster für die Games-Branche mündete, ist diesmal weitaus besser gelungen – trotz Corona und des daher fehlenden Vor-Ort-Publikums. Als Livestream feierte der Deutsche Entwicklerpreis nun seine Online-Show-Premiere, und zwar eine rundum gelungene. Keine Ina Müller, keine Peinlichkeiten: Diese simple Formel ging auf. Die Moderatorin führte durch den Deutschen Computerspielpreis 2019, was misslang.

Iron Harvest: Bestes deutsches Computerspiel des Jahres

Die Veranstalter haben stattdessen Branchenexperten rekrutiert, die durch die Online-Show führten: Fabian Siegismund,  Ex-Gamestar-Redakteur, der sich durch einen Gastauftritt in der TV-Serie Richter Alexander Hold für sein Wirken als Frontschwein vor der Kamera abhärtete; Lara „Loft“ Trautmann, Synchronsprecherin mit eigenem Let’s-play-Kanal; Daniel „Budi“ Budiman, Moderator bei Rocket Beans, Kenner der Szene und charmanter Clown, sowie Valentina Birke, deren Herz für Spielkultur und Indie-Games schlägt. Bei allem Witz: Die Zusammensetzung dieser Runde war der erste große Coup der Macher des Deutschen Entwicklerpreises. Die Idee ging auf. Die Show war unterhaltsam, Games-orientiert und der Branche würdig. Chapeau!

Hut ab auch den zahlreichen Entwicklern und Publishern, die für ihre Leistungen Auszeichnungen einheimsen konnten. Großer Gewinner ist das Bremer Studio King Art, das mehrere Preise aufräumen konnte, unter anderem den besonders prestigeträchtigen für das beste deutsche Videospiel des vergangenen Jahres: Das Echtzeit-Strategiespiel „Iron Harvest“. Mit Auszeichnungen in den Kategorien „Bestes Deutsches Spiel“, „Bestes Game Design“, „Bester Sound“ und „Bestes Studio“ gingen insgesamt vier Trophäen nach Bremen.

„So dicht beieinander lagen die Nominierten bei den Bewertungen durch die Jury selten zuvor.“
Christian Müller, Geschäftsführer der Aruba Events

Die ursprünglich im Dezember 2020 als Gala geplante Preisverleihung wurde aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie verschoben und fand als kurzweilige Online-Show statt.

„Die hohe Qualität der Einreichungen zeigt sich nicht nur an den hervorragenden Siegertiteln. Auch das Votum der Jury fiel in diesem Jahr ebenfalls besonders knapp aus“, so Christian Müller, Geschäftsführer der Aruba Events GmbH, Veranstalter des Deutschen Entwicklerpreises. Ihn freut, dass man die herausragenden Leistungen der Entwicklerinnen und Entwickler trotz der Corona-Pandemie würdigen und die Gewinnerinnen und Gewinner darüber hinaus in dem neuen Livestream-Konzept gebührend feiern konnte.

Wegen Corona: Die Show fand erstmals als Livestream statt - Masken gab es trotzdem, in der Regie zum Beispiel. Foto: Deutscher Entwicklerpreis 2020
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Corona: Die Show fand erstmals als Livestream statt – Masken gab es trotzdem, in der Regie zum Beispiel. Foto: Deutscher Entwicklerpreis 2020

Was Branchenkenner fast erahnen konnten, ist eingetreten: Auch Paintbucket Games hat Auszeichnungen abgeräumt, für jenes mutige Spiel, das den Widerstand gegen den Nationalsozialismus thematisiert: „Through the Darkest of Times“. Die Handlung spielt zu Zeiten des Dritten Reichs; das Konzept überzeugte die 76 Jurorinnen und Juroren. Paintbucket Games hat den Deutschen Entwicklerpreis 2020 für die „Beste Story“ und als „Bestes Indie Game“ gewonnen.

Auch interessant:
Gran Turismo 7: Release nicht vor 2022

Spannend und wichtig: Gaming ohne Grenzen. Das von „congstar geförderte“ Projekt hat den Sonderpreis für soziales Engagement erhalten. Gaming und Videospiele sind beliebt wie nie zuvor und verbinden Menschen über Kulturen und Altersgruppen hinweg. Doch unter den mehr als 2,5 Milliarden Gamer*innen weltweit gibt es viele, die aufgrund körperlicher oder geistiger Einschränkung einen erschwerten Zugang zur Welt der Spiele haben. Der Mobilfunkanbieter congstar unterstützt aus diesem Grund im Rahmen seiner Gaming-Aktivitäten seit April 2020 das Projekt.  Es geht darum, Videospiele gemeinsam mit inklusiven Jugendgruppen auf ihre Barrierefreiheit zu testen.

In fünf wöchentlich stattfindenden inklusiven Spieletester-Gruppen werden digitale Spiele und assistive Technologien im Kölner Raum getestet. Durch gezielte (medien-)pädagogische Methoden und vernetztes Lernen unter Berücksichtigung der individuellen Fähigkeiten sollen die Teilnehmenden die Vielfältigkeit einer inklusiven Gemeinschaft schätzen lernen und ihre Stärken gezielt fördern. Die Ergebnisse der Tests werden auf der barrierefreien Projekt-Webseite www.gaming-ohne-grenzen.de allen Interessierten zugänglich gemacht.

Die Freude über die Auszeichnung ist bei allen Beteiligten riesig: „Inklusion im Gaming-Bereich voranzubringen ist uns eine Herzensangelegenheit. Es ist schön zu sehen, dass dies auch in der Branche auf Zuspruch stößt“, so Saskia Moes, Projektleitung. „Wir hätten nie damit gerechnet, dass unser Projekt so früh so viel Aufmerksamkeit bekommt. Das spornt uns natürlich umso mehr an, Beurteilungen auf der Website für alle zugänglich zu machen“, ergänzt Julius Ricken, Projektmitarbeiter.

Alle Gewinner des Deutschen Entwicklerpreises 2020

  • Bestes Deutsches Spiel
    Iron Harvest, Entwickler: King Art GmbH, Bremen
  • Bestes Studio – präsentiert vom Verband „game“
    King Art GmbH, Bremen
  • Bester Publisher
    Assemble Entertainment GmbH, Wiesbaden
  • Bestes Game Design
    Iron Harvest, Entwickler: King Art GmbH, Bremen
  • Bester Sound
    Iron Harvest, Entwickler: King Art GmbH, Bremen
  • Beste Grafik
    SpellForce 3 – Fallen God, Entwickler: Grimlore Games GmbH, München
  • Beste Story
    Through the Darkest of Times, Entwickler: Paintbucket Games, Berlin
  • Bestes Indie Game
    Through the Darkest of Times, Entwickler: Paintbucket Games, Berlin
  • Bestes Mobile Game
    High Rise, Entwickler: smpl Games, Berlin
  • Innovationspreis – Sonderpreis der Stadt Köln
    Jessika, Entwickler: TriTrie Games UG, Köln
  • Sonderpreis Soziales Engagement – präsentiert von Gaming-Aid
    Gaming ohne Grenzen, ComputerProjekt Köln e.V., Köln
  • Most Wanted
    Everspace 2, Entwickler: Rockfish Games GmbH, Hamburg
  • Dauerbrenner
    Anno (Serie), Entwickler: Ubisoft GmbH, Mainz/ Düsseldorf
  • Newcomer Award
    Whalien, Entwickler: Forbidden Folds, Pischelsdorf (A)
  • Förderpreis für junge Entwicklerinnen – Sonderpreis Film- und Medienstiftung NRW
    Golden Orb, Witten

Der Deutsche Entwicklerpreis ist die älteste Auszeichnung für die Entwicklung herausragender Computerspiele aus deutschsprachigen Ländern und wird bereits seit 2004 vergeben. Der Deutsche Entwicklerpreis wird unterstützt vom Land Nordrhein-Westfalen, der Film und Medienstiftung NRW und der „KölnBusiness“ Wirtschaftsförderungs-GmbH. Partner des Deutschen Entwicklerpreises 2020 sind Making Games, Ubisoft und game – Verband der deutschen Games-Branche.

YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Iron Harvest (PC)
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
Iron Harvest (PC) * 39,48 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 1.03.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API