According to a report by Bloomberg's industry property Jason Schreier, Billzard, or to be more precise: the studio Vicarious Visions recently bought by Activision, is working on a remake of Diablo 2. The 200-man developer studio had previously worked on series such as Tony Hawk and Crash Bandicoot. According to Bloomberg, the information about the Diablo 2 remake comes from anonymous sources who know Blizzard's plans.


It has been a rumor for a long time that a remake of Diablo 4 is to be released in addition to Diablo 2. Blizzard itself has not officially commented on this, but industry expert Jason Schreier now suggests that a corresponding project may be in progress.

Diablo 2 remake: is it actually coming?

The Diablo franchise could play a strong role in the games market in the years to come. Diablo Immortal is more or less on the home stretch and Diablo 4 is also in the works. Now it seems as if the remake of Diablo 2 is one of those projects that Blizzard wants to actively serve. According to a report by Jason Schreier for Bloomberg, the Californian game company is working on a remake of what is probably the most popular title from the Diablo series: Diablo 2.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

The alleged name of the game is said to be Diablo 2: Resurrected and was originally developed by Blizzard's core team, which was responsible for Warcraft 2020: Reforged, which was released in 3. the rather negative reviews however, led to Blizzard handing the project over to the team responsible for Diablo 4.

Now, according to Schreier Vicarious Visions - the makers of the current Crash Bandicoot and the remake of Tony Hawk - should at least help in the development of the remake of Diablo 2. Activision recently bought the studio into the company.

Blizzard has not yet confirmed the report on the Diablo 2 remake. But: In a statement to Bloomberg stated that Vicarious Visions “has been working with Blizzard for some time”. What is the end of the rumor about a revised or reissued version of the classic remains to be seen. The plans could well be realistic, as fans have long wanted a remake of the hack-and-slay title from 2000. It is completely uncertain when the time for the release of a remake for Diablo 2 should the rumors be true. There were eleven years between Diablo 2: Lord of Destruction and Diablo 3; only on the BlizzCon 2019 had Blizzard the successor Diablo 4 announced.

By the way: There were already rumors of a remake for Diablo 2, according to which the game will be released in 2020 should. These have obviously proven to be incorrect - unless the corona pandemic has secretly caused a postponement.


Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Nach einem Bericht von Bloombergs Branchengutu Jason Schreier arbeitet Billzard, genauer: das kürzlich von Activision eingekaufte Studio Vicarious Visions, an einem Remake zu Diablo 2. Das 200 Mann starke Entwicklerstudio hatte vormals an Serien wie Tony Hawk oder Crash Bandicoot gearbeitet. Nach Angaben von Bloomberg stammt die Information über das Diablo-2-Remake aus anonymen Quellen, die die Pläne von Blizzard kennen.


Dass neben Diablo 4 auch ein Remake zu Diablo 2 veröffentlicht werden soll, ist seit längerer Zeit ein Gerücht. Blizzard selbst hat sich dazu zwar nicht offiziell geäußert, nun deutet der Brachenexperte Jason Schreier allerdings darauf hin, dass sich ein entsprechendes Projekt in Arbeit befinden könnte.

Remake zu Diablo 2: Kommt es tatsächlich?

Das Diablo-Franchise könnte in den kommenden Jahren eine starke Rolle auf dem Games-Markt spielen. Diablo Immortal befindet sich mehr oder weniger auf der Zielgeraden und Diablo 4 ist ebenfalls in Arbeit. Nun scheint es, als würde auch das Remake zu Diablo 2 zu jenen Projekten gehören, die Blizzard aktiv bedienen will. Nach einem Bericht von Jason Schreier für Bloomberg arbeitet die kalifornische Spieleschmiede an einem Remake des wahrscheinlich beliebtesten Titels aus der Diablo-Reihe: Diablo 2.

YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Der angebliche Name des Spiels soll Diablo 2: Resurrected lauten und ursprünglich von Blizzards Kernteam entwickelt werden, das für das im Jahr 2020 erschienene Warcraft 3: Reforged verantwortlich war. Die eher negativen Kritiken führten allerdings dazu, dass Blizzard das Projekt an das Team übergab, das für Diablo 4 verantwortlich ist.

Nun soll laut Schreier Vicarious Visions – die Macher des aktuellen Crash Bandicoot sowie des Remakes zu Tony Hawk – bei der Entwicklung des Remakes von Diablo 2 zumindest mithelfen. Das Studio hatte Activision erst kürzlich in das Unternehmen eingekauft.

Blizzard hat den Bericht zum Diablo 2-Remake bislang nicht bestätigt hat. Aber: In einem Statement gegenüber Bloomberg angegeben, dass Vicarious Visions „seit einiger Zeit mit Blizzard zusammenarbeitet“. Was letztendlich dran ist an dem Gerücht zu einer überarbeiteten beziehungsweise neu aufgelegten Version des Klassikers, bleibt abzuwarten. Die Pläne könnten durchaus realistisch sein, da Fans sich seit langer Zeit eine Neuauflage des Hack-and-Slay-Titels aus dem Jahr 2000 wünschen. Völlig ungewiss ist, wann es soweit sein könnte mit dem Release eines Remakes zu Diablo 2, sollten die Gerüchte stimmen. Zwischen Diablo 2: Lord of Destruction und Diablo 3 lagen elf Jahre; erst auf der BlizzCon 2019 hatte Blizzard den Nachfolger Diablo 4 angekündigt.

Auch interessant:
Zombicide: Undead or Alive - Kickstarter kratzt an der Millionengrenze

Übrigens: Es gab bereits Gerüchte zu einem Remake zu Diablo 2, nach denen das Spiel im Jahr 2020 erscheinen sollte. Diese haben sich als offensichtlich nicht zutreffend erwiesen – außer, die Corona-Pandemie hat insgeheim für eine Verschiebung gesorgt.


Letzte Aktualisierung am 24.02.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API