The Brettspiel-Con 2022 in Berlin is scheduled to take place from July 15th to 17th. The event initiated by the board game influencers “Hunter & Cron” (now: Hunter & Friends) will then take place for the seventh time. In view of the corona pandemic, the 2G rules should apply. And something else is new: a business area is intended to bring the industry together. 

After the cancellation of the event in 2020 and a reduced reopening event under pandemic conditions in September 2021, the Berlin Board Game Con will return to its original date, the organizers have announced. The convention is scheduled to take place from July 15 to 17, 2022 and then for the seventh time.

Berlin Con does “business”

The joy of organizer Johannes "Hunter" Jäger is correspondingly great: "For 2022 we all wish for a return to normality and we hope to make a contribution to this with the Berlin Con in summer".

The corona virus continues to be rampant in Germany, but the number of infections could currently reverse the trend. The organizers of the Berlin-Con have legitimate hopes for a largely "normal" event. A full program is planned with an enlarged exhibitor hall for publishers and retailers, a free games area with 1.000 seats and free game rental, the community playground for board game influencers, the board game flea market, a tournament area and the prototype gallery for authors. “A special area for pen & paper role-playing games is also returning with RatCon Berlin,” says Jäger.

As of now, the admission conditions for the Berlin Con 2022 are expected to remain strict. “Even if the development of the pandemic promises further relief for the next few months, the Berlin Board Game Con and ticket sales are currently being held as a 2G event,” the organizers explain . However, we reserve the right to make changes.

A novelty this year will be a kind of business area. The organizational team explains: For the first time, a new pre-event called “B2Brett” will premiere at the Berlin Con. In the directly adjacent Hotel Aletto, publishers have the opportunity to present their innovations to representatives of the press and to cultivate industry contacts.

This part was specially created for press, trade and publishing representatives to be able to meet away from the noisy hustle and bustle of the trade fair and to offer business partners a new opportunity for networking. Behind the idea is the influencer Sven Siemen, who runs the “Brettballett” channel. He explains:
"Even though the board game scene has grown significantly during the pandemic, personal contact has been lost a lot. As well as video calls and digital events work, we all long for personal exchange with our partners. Even without the pandemic, we always have a vacuum of industry events in summer, because between the Nuremberg Games Fair and the GAME in Essen little happens. With the "B2BRETT" we want to promote the business part at the Berlin Con, because due to the proximity to the game of the year event, many industry and trade representatives will be on site in Berlin."

And it will even be historical at the Berlin Con 2022: For the first time in the history of the Berlin Con, the “Game of the Year” prize will be awarded in a separate event in Berlin on Saturday evening, July 16th. "We look forward to celebrating the winner together at the Berlin Con on Sunday," says the team.

Tickets in advance

Tickets are on sale from February 16th. The organizers call 59 euros as the price for a season ticket, which includes the "Game Nights" on Friday and Saturday. There are discounts for early bookers: For the first time, the Berlin Brettspiel Con is offering discounted tickets.

These reductions apply to children from 5 to 14 years of age, pupils, trainees, students, job seekers with benefits under ALG I, severely disabled people (degree of disability of at least 50), pensioners, recipients of social assistance, EU pensioners (= disability pensioners), people doing voluntary service, Holders of the berlinpass and honorary card Berlin-Brandenburg. Children up to and including 4 years of age receive free entry.

Excluded from the discounts is the limited badge, which, in addition to admission on Saturday and Sunday, also gives access to the “GameNight” on Friday and Saturday evening with a seat guarantee. This year we are offering a three-month early bird phase from February 16 to May 16, 2022 for the badge.

Sunday, July 17th is family day again and all children up to the age of 14 get free entry when accompanied by an adult.

Information about Berlin Con and ticket prices is available online at www.berlin-con.de.

Author

Die Brettspiel-Con 2022 in Berlin soll vom 15. bis 17. Juli stattfindet. Das von den Brettspiel-Influencern “Hunter & Cron” (nun: Hunter & Friends) initiierte Event findet dann zum siebten Mal statt. Gelten sollen angesichts der Coronapandemie die 2G-Regeln. Und noch etwas ist neu: ein Business-Bereich soll die Branche zusammenbringen. 

Nach dem Ausfall der Veranstaltung im Jahr 2020 und einem verkleinerten Reopening-Event unter Pandemiebedingungen im September 2021, kehrt die Berlin Brettspiel Con wieder an ihren angestammten Termin zurück, das kündigen die Organisatoren an. Die Convention soll vom 15. bis 17. Juli 2022 und dann zum inzwischen siebten Mal stattfinden.

Berlin Con macht “Business”

Die Freude bei Veranstalter Johannes “Hunter” Jäger ist entsprechend groß: „Für 2022 wünschen wir uns alle eine Rückkehr zur Normalität und wir hoffen mit der Berlin Con im Sommer dazu einen Beitrag zu leisten”.

Das Coronavirus grassiert weiterhin in Deutschland, derzeit könnten die Infektionszahlen allerdings eine Trendwende einleiten. Die Organisatoren der Berlin-Con haben berechtigte Hoffungen auf eine weitestgehend “normale” Veranstaltung. Man plane mit einem vollständigen Programm mit vergrößerter Ausstellerhalle für Verlage und Händler, einem freien Spielebereich mit 1.000 Sitzplätzen und kostenloser Spieleausleihe, dem Community-Playground für Brettspiel-Influencer, dem Brettspielflohmarkt, einer Turnierfläche und der Prototypengalerie für Autoren. “Mit der RatCon Berlin kehrt außerdem ein spezieller Bereich für Pen & Paper-Rollenspiele zurück”, meint Jäger.

Streng bleiben – Stand jetzt – voraussichtlich die Zutrittsbedingungen zur Berlin Con 2022. “Auch wenn die Entwicklung der Pandemie für die nächsten Monate weitere Erleichterungen verspricht, wird die Berlin Brettspiel Con und der Ticketvorverkauf zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt als 2G Veranstaltung durchgeführt”, erklären die Organisatoren hierzu. Änderungen seien allerdings vorbehalten.

Ein Novum wird dieses Jahr eine Art Business-Bereich sein. Das Orga-Team erläutert: Erstmalig wird auf der Berlin Con ein neuer Pre-Event Namens “B2Brett” Premiere feiern. Im direkt benachbarten Hotel Aletto erhalten Verlage die Möglichkeit ihre Neuheiten Pressevertretern zu präsentieren und Branchenkontakte zu pflegen.

Dieser Part sei speziell für Presse- Handels- und Verlagsvertreter geschaffen worden, um sich abseits des lauten Messetrubels treffen zu können und den Business-Partnern eine neue Möglichkeit der Vernetzung zu bieten. Hinter der Idee steckt der Influencer Sven Siemen, der den Kanal “Brettballett” betreibt. Er erläutert:
„Auch wenn die Brettspiel-Szene in der Pandemie stark gewachsen ist, ging der persönliche Kontakt doch sehr verloren. So gut Video-Calls und digitale Events auch funktionieren, so sehr sehnen wir uns alle doch nach dem persönlichen Austausch mit unseren Partnern. Auch ohne die Pandemie haben wir im Sommer immer ein Vakuum an Branchen-Events, denn zwischen der Nürnberger Spielemesse und der SPIEL in Essen passiert wenig. Mit der “B2BRETT” möchten wir den Business-Part auf der Berlin Con fördern, denn durch die zeitliche Nähe zur Spiel-des-Jahres-Veranstaltung werden viele Branchen- und Handelsvertreter vor Ort in Berlin sein.“

Und sogar historisch wird es auf der Berlin Con 2022: Zum ersten Mal in der Geschichte der Berlin Con wird am Samstagabend, 16. Juli, in einer eigenständigen Veranstaltung der Preis „Spiel des Jahres“ in Berlin verliehen. “Wir freuen uns darauf den Gewinner noch am Sonntag auf der Berlin Con gemeinsam feiern zu können”, so das Team.

Tickets im Vorverkauf

Tickets gibt es ab 16. Februar im Vorverkauf. Die Organisatoren rufen 59 Euro als Preis für eine Dauerkarte auf, darin enthalten sind die “Game Nights” am Freitag und Samstag. Rabatte gibt es für Frühbucher: Zum ersten Mal bietet die Berlin Brettspiel Con dabei ermäßigte Tickets an.

Diese Ermäßigungen gelten für Kinder von 5 bis 14 Jahre, Schülerinnen und Schülern, Auszubildenden, Studierenden, Arbeitssuchenden mit Leistungen nach ALG I, Schwerbehinderten (Grad der Behinderung von mindestens 50), Rentner, Sozialhilfeempfänger, EU-Rentner (=Erwerbsunfähigkeitsrentner), Freiwilligendienstleistenden, Inhaber berlinpass sowie Ehrensamtkarte Berlin-Brandenburg. Kinder bis einschließlich 4 Jahre erhalten freien Eintritt.

Von den Ermäßigungen ausgenommen ist die limitierte Badge, die, zusätzlich zum Eintritt am Samstag und Sonntag, noch den Zugang zur Freitagabend und Samstagabend stattfindenden “GameNight” mit Sitzplatzgarantie ermöglicht. Für die Badge bieten wir dieses Jahr eine dreimonatige Early Bird-Phase vom 16. Februar bis 16. Mai 2022. an.

Am Sonntag, 17. Juli, ist wieder Familientag und alle Kinder bis 14 Jahren erhalten in Begleitung Erwachsener freien Eintritt.

Informationen zu Berlin Con sowie zu den Ticketpreisen gibt es online unter www.berlin-con.de.

Autor