The Swedish Embracer Group is back on a shopping spree. This time the group wants to loosen around 300 million US dollars for the extended arm of Square Enix's western games market. Specifically, this is the takeover of the studios behind Tomb Raider, Thief and Deus Ex, including the brands.

The Swedish Embracer Group is strengthening its position in the games market. The parent company behind companies such as Koch Media and THQ Nordic is driving its growth through acquisitions of Eidos Montreal, Square Enix Montreal and Crystal Dynamics. The well-known studios are backed by strong brands, including the Tomb Raider, Thief and Deus Ex video game series.

300 million deal with Square Enix

The deal, worth around USD 1.100 million, includes eight branches worldwide and a total of around 300 employees. That sounds like a lot, but on closer inspection it is a bargain. All brands purchased are classics, well-known in the scene and often bestsellers in their genres. According to Embracer, the deal is to be settled through cash transactions, i.e. paid in full upon conclusion. The Swedish group expects the takeover to be completed in the second quarter of the financial year, i.e. in the period between July and September of this year.

Why all this? In a statement of its own, Square Enix said the deal would enable “the creation of new companies that will drive investments in areas like blockchain, AI and cloud.” Square Enix is ​​not giving up its core market of Japan, and the company's studios, which are also active abroad, will continue to publish games for brands such as Just Cause, Outriders and Life is Strange.

Phil Rogers, CEO of Square Enix America and Europe, commented, "Embracer is the best kept secret in gaming." It is a concentrated, decentralized collection of entrepreneurs. And: We are excited to be a part of it. Apparently, Embracer CEO Lars Wingefors sees things similarly. The creative talent and track record behind the brands can also be seen in the studios that are now to be acquired.

It had already become apparent that something would change for Square Enix, especially in the western market segment. CEO Yosuke Matsuda stated that Japanese studios should not try to create gaming titles specifically aimed at western gamers.

Embracer consistently focuses on growth through acquisitions. In an interview with the Financial Times, Lars Wingefors stated that they intend to make several acquisitions in the coming years. However, there have also been many of these in the past: since 2020, the group based in Karlstad (Sweden) has made 62 acquisitions. The volume: around eight billion US dollars. 115 development studios belong to the group, plus the ten major operational groups, including THQ Nordic or Gearbox Software or Saber Interactive.

The Embracer Group not only the gaming segment in view, recently the plans for the acquisition of Dark Horse Comics showed that and Asmodee.

Preview Product Rating Price
Deus Ex: Mankind Divided D1 Edition Deus Ex: Mankind Divided D1 Edition * 28,53 EUR

Author

Last updated on 20.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Die schwedische Embracer Group ist wieder auf Einkaufstour. Diesmal will die Gruppe rund 300 Millionen US-Dollar für den verlängerten Arm auf dem westlichem Games-Markt von Square Enix locker machen. Konkret ist das die Übernahme der Studios hinter Tomb Raider, Thief und Deus Ex samt der Marken.

Die schwedische Embracer Group stärkt ihre Stellung auf dem Games-Markt Der Mutterkonzern hinter Firmen wie Koch Media oder THQ Nordic treibt sein Wachstum durch Zukäufe von Eidos Montreal, Square Enix Montreal und Crystal Dynamics voran. Hinter den namhaften Studios stehen ebenso starke Marken, darunter vor allem die Videospielreihen zu Tomb Raider, Thief und Deus Ex.

300-Millionen-Deal mit Square Enix

Weltweit acht Niederlassungen und insgesamt etwa 1.100 Mitarbeiter umfasst der rund 300 Millionen US-Dollar schwere Deal. Das klingt nach viel, ist bei genauerer Betrachtung jedoch ein Schnäppchen. Alle eingekauften Marken sind Klassiker, in der Szene bekannt und in ihren Genres nicht selten Bestseller. Laut Embracer soll der Deal durch Bartransaktionen abgewickelt, also bei Abschluss vollständig bezahlt werden. Bereits für das zweite Geschäftsquartal erwartet der schwedische Konzern die Abwicklung der Übernahme – somit in dem Zeitraum zwischen Juli und September dieses Jahres.

Warum das ganze? In einer eigenen Mitteilung erklärt Square Enix, der Deal ermögliche “die Gründung neuer Unternehmen, mit denen Investitionen in Bereichen wie Blockchain, KI und Cloud vorangetrieben werden”. Den Kernmarkt Japan gibt Square Enix nicht her, und auch die übrigens im Ausland agierenden Studios des Unternehmens werden weiterhin Spiele zu Marken wie Just Cause, Outriders und Life is Strange veröffentlichen.

Phil Rogers, CEO von Square Enix America and Europe, kommentierte: “Embracer ist das am besten gehütete Geheimnis im Gaming”. Es sei eine konzentrierte, dezentrale Sammlung von Unternehmern. Und: Man sei begeistert, ein Teil davon zu werden. Ähnlich sieht das offenbar auch Embracer-CEO Lars Wingefors. Auch bei den Studios, die nun zugekauft werden sollen, erkenne man kreatives Talent und die Erfolgsbilanz hinter den Marken.

Abgezeichnet hatte sich bereits, dass sich für Square Enix vor allem im westlichem Marktsegment etwas ändern würde. CEO Yosuke Matsuda erklärte, die japanischen Studios sollten nicht versuchen, Gaming-Titel zu entwickeln, die sich speziell an westliche Spieler richteten.

Embracer setzt konsequent auf Wachstum durch Zukäuft. In einem Interview mit der Financial Times gab Lars Wingefors an, man wolle in den kommenden Jahren mehrere Akquisitionen tätigen. Davon gab es allerdings auch in der Vergangenheit viele: seit 2020 das der Konzern mit Sitz in Karlstad (Schweden) 62 Zukäufe getätigt. Das Volumen: rund acht Milliarden US-Dollar. 115 Entwicklerstudios gehören zu dem Konzern, hinzu kommen die zehn großen operativen Gruppe, darunter THQ Nordic oder Gearbox Software oder Saber Interactive.

Längst hat die Embracer Group dabei nicht nur das Gaming-Segment im Blick, jüngst zeigten das die Pläne um den Zukauf von Dark Horse Comics und Asmodee.

Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Deus Ex: Mankind Divided D1 Edition Deus Ex: Mankind Divided D1 Edition * 28,53 EUR

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 27.11.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API