With Mission ISS a board game by Michael Luu has been published by Verlag Schmidt Spiele, in which up to four astronauts can work together on the International Space Station ISS. The work was created in close cooperation with the German Aerospace Center - that should ensure a harmonious setting. And in fact, the spring novelty Mission ISS turns out to be a tricky brain teaser, in which a planned and coordinated approach is rewarded. 


If you start with the fully occupied crew of four astronauts, the trip into space costs the equivalent of around eight euros per person. It will hardly be cheaper to get to the International Space Station in the future. The ISS makes its laps alone in Earth orbit - it is currently the only existing space station. The first component was shot into space in 1998, and many more followed. And since the beginning of the millennium, the space station has also been permanently manned. This is where the game designer Michael Luu (formerly Rob'n Run, published by PD Verlag) comes in with his idea for a cooperative board game.

Surprising: Although the ISS is one of the few modern wonders in human history, the topic is comparatively unspent. That alone is reason enough to embark on the strategic, but family-friendly, if not always easy space adventure. 

Mission ISS: Completely detached

Mission ISS is one of the novelties of the still young game year 2021. The traditional Berlin publishing house Schmidt is publishing a single title with it that not only lets players slip into the roles of space commanders. but also tells the story of the International Space Station, which is closer to its end than the beginning.

Mission ISS can be played in solo mode, but better in a cooperative round, the maximum of which is four players. With a project as complex as building a space station, the reason is almost obvious: it's demanding - more brains produce more good ideas. So at best three or four astronauts can be thrown into space to expand the ISS there in modules. At least you don't start with nothing at all, but can attach to the first ISS module. First of all, it goes back in time, namely to the year 1998. At that time, the world was largely okay, even if Modern Talking celebrated their comeback in the first year of the ISS and the Lewinsky affair became a stumbling block for the US president of all places had previously promoted a new space station project. 

Not a scene from "Blair Witch Project in Space", just a playing card of a happy astronaut. Photo: Volkmann

Not a scene from “Blair Witch Project in Space”, just a playing card of a happy astronaut. Photo: Volkmann

In contrast to other purely cooperative board games, in Mission ISS you don't slip into the role of a character for each player, but take care of the entire team - as a higher-level command authority, so to speak. Nevertheless, it is the turn of the games, so you have to make the decisions about the astro crew yourself - but in consultation with the other ISS experts. That's at least one of the delightful factors in this strategic co-op board game. At the beginning three, later six astronauts float through the black vacuum. Each is endowed with three skills. And so you can move the figures round by round, for example to research or have them built. There is also progress, represented by point tokens in the bases of the figures. At first glance, they take some getting used to, because they are 3D plug-in sets. However, it fits in well in a playful way and it is also functional.

Command cards show the direction 

As a commander, you don't go to work completely indiscriminately: Cards control the selection of actions. These are divided up, laid out face-up and then selected and activated - each with its own card and one from another player. So you are dependent on the display, because cards are blocked for a short time, you cannot always draw on the full, so you have to weigh up what makes sense as an action at which point in time. That sounds simple, and basically it is, but it has a playful appeal because the setup on the table is constantly changing. The rotation is not dramatic, but it is always noticeable. A successful trick that is fun and understandable. 

When setting up, the following applies: Put everything together for the first time - at some point all astronauts will be ready for action. Photo: Volkmann

When setting up, the following applies: Put everything together for the first time - at some point all astronauts will be ready for action. Photo: Volkmann

Otherwise, the astro crew wafts to the modules in the course of the game and tinkers with them. Above all, however, research is being carried out. Michael Luu brings the aerospace topic to the table excellently, because research also takes up a large part of their work assignment for “real astronauts”. If you have “searched away” all the dice's eyes, you receive a bonus as a reward. This is usually helpful, but not the real goal - that is to eliminate the red dice as much as possible. It is not allowed to build if the signal-colored random generator is in the space station. And that is exactly the opposite of the actual goal of the game: the expansion of the ISS.

This is where an additional trick comes into play, namely the astronauts' individual building skills. Because the modules are differently difficult to attach, this can only be done by a professional, sometimes several crew members have to work at the same time. Small auxiliary robots grant small bonuses, which sometimes alleviates the difficulty. If you have successfully grown, a new blue cube comes on the table and thus research moves back into focus. It has come full circle. 

The 3D horror crew with their ax arms couldn't have done Wes Craven any better - but the figures are functional. Photo: Volkmann

The 3D horror crew with their ax arms couldn't have done Wes Craven any better - but the figures are functional. Photo: Volkmann

Tension arises from random events. These are usually associated with undesirable effects and increase the difficulty of building modules. In any case, all of the game's actions and mini-rules are well and thematically interwoven. Was that what you expected from this board game in advance? At least we don't. The surprise was therefore positive. What, based on the description, initially sounds like a shallow family game, in which you happily assemble your space station, turns out to be a real headache as the course progresses.

Even if you might think that the more experience the astronauts have, the easier they will be, they will not. You always have to plan, because a game does not last indefinitely: the game rounds are limited, indicated by a timeline whose markers move whenever you have to ring the end of a shift. Then it is refreshed, but you automatically get closer to the finale. The course of the game in Mission ISS is not stressful, it is not an hourglass game, but the crew still has time on their necks. The fact that intermediate exams can end the game immediately does not necessarily lead to more relaxation. if you have built fewer than the required number of modules, that's it with the mission. 

The ISS is a beast on the gaming table: The idea of ​​a slightly different game board is pretty successful. Photo: Volkmann

The ISS is a beast on the gaming table: The idea of ​​a slightly different game board is pretty successful. Photo: Volkmann

However, you can also win: after the construction of twelve modules, but temporarily in 2011. Then you can travel back in time to the present and the space adventure is over. From today's perspective, the prospects for the ISS are no longer quite so rosy: Even if this unique structure seems to be built to last, it is expected that it will be in purely technical operation until around 2030 at the latest. 

Infobox

Number of players: 1 to 4
Age: from 12 years
Difficulty: medium
Long-term motivation: medium
Genre: family games
Sub-genre: Cooperative board games

Author: Michael Luu
Official website: link
Year of publication: 2021
Language: German
Cost: 32,99 Euro

 

Summary

The board game Mission ISS initially has the charm of the ugly duckling, optically the space drama does not want to ignite completely, but everything is clear and functional. Even the illustrations on the cards are quite successful. But that's all a matter of taste, of course: Anyone who likes a board game with pluggable 3D figures will celebrate Mission ISS from Schmidt Spiele as a feast for the eyes. 

The decisive factor, however, is on the pitch and that's exactly where the title convinces with its surprisingly demanding process. The mechanics and rule tricks interlock and because it works so well, you always have to work together as a team. It's not easy, and sometimes quite tricky. Right from the start, all players have to be focused and plan ahead. This shows: with increasing game experience, the level of difficulty decreases, which is good, because Mission ISS can turn out to be a tough nut to crack. Above all, “gut players”, who follow their feelings and tend to anticipate moves, experience this painfully - this is rarely successful. Those who get through too fluently can also adjust the level of difficulty and allow fewer “good events”.

The game play differs from game to game, sometimes more, sometimes less. That motivates and encourages trying things out. To be more precise: for planned trial and error. 

The focus is absolutely on research, the process of Mission ISS leaves no doubt about that: The construction freeze always hovers like a sword of Damocles over the space station and above it in turn the even sharper Sword of Damocles 2.0 hovers in the form of interim scores on the timeline.

Mission ISS impressively shows three things: optics are not everything in a board game, violent team puzzles can be fun. And: with the dream job of an astronaut, it's a rather complicated affair. 

And apart from the playful, this work scores with its information content: there are many exciting anecdotes about the ISS, the modules and the project in the instructions. One would wish for a little more background in many board games - everything has been done right here. 


Author

Last updated on 19.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Mit Mission ISS ist ein Brettspiel von Michael Luu im Verlag Schmidt Spiele erschienen, bei dem bis zu vier Astronauten gemeinsam an der Internationalen Raumstation ISS basteln dürfen. Das Werk ist dabei in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt entstanden – für ein stimmiges Setting sollte das sorgen. Und tatsächlich erweist sich die Frühjahrs-Neuheit Mission ISS als durchaus knifflige Denkaufgabe, bei der geplantes und koordiniertes Vorgehen belohnt wird. 


Startet man mit der vollbesetzten Crew von vier Astronauten, so kostet der Trip ins All umgerechnet rund acht Euro pro Kopf. Günstiger wird man zukünftig wohl kaum zur International Space-Station kommen können. Einsam dreht die ISS ihre Runden in der Erdumlaufbahn – es ist die derzeit einzige existierende Raumstation. Im Jahr 1998 hatte man das erste Bauteil in den Weltraum geschossen, viele weitere folgten. Und seit Einläuten des Millenniums ist die Space-Station auch dauerhaft bemannt. An dieser Stelle setzt der Spieleautor Michael Luu (vormals Rob’n Run, erschienen im PD Verlag) mit seiner Idee für ein kooperatives Brettspiel an.

Überraschend: Obwohl die ISS eines der wenigen modernen Wunder der Menschheitsgeschichte ist, ist das Thema vergleichsweise unverbraucht. Allein das ist Grund genug, sich auf das strategische, aber familiengerechte, wenn auch nicht immer einfache Weltraum-Abenteuer einzulassen. 

Mission ISS: Völlig losgelöst

Mission ISS ist eine der Neuheiten des noch jungen Spielejahres 2021. Der Berliner Traditionsverlag Schmidt veröffentlicht damit einen Einzeltitel, der Spieler nicht nur in die Rollen von Space-Kommandanten schlüpfen lässt. sondern auch die Geschichte der Internationalen Raumstation erzählt, die ihrem Ende näher ist als dem Anfang.

Mission ISS lässt sich im Solomodus spielen, besser jedoch in einer kooperativen Runde, deren Maximum bei vier Spielern liegt. Der Grund ist bei einem derart komplexen Vorhaben wie dem Bau einer Raumstation fast offensichtlich: es ist fordernd – mehr Gehirne bringen mehr gute Ideen hervor. Also lassen sich bestenfalls drei oder vier Astronauten ins All schleudern, um die ISS dort modulweise zu erweitern. Man startet zumindest nicht gänzlich mit Nichts, sondern darf an das erste ISS-Modul anbauen. Zunächst geht es zurück in der Zeit, nämlich ins Jahr 1998. Damals war die Welt noch weitestgehend in Ordnung, auch wenn Modern Talking im Startjahr der ISS ihr Comeback feierten und die Lewinsky-Affäre ausgerechnet für jenen US-Präsidenten zum Stolperstein wurde, der sich vormals für ein neues Space-Station-Projekt stark gemacht hatte. 

Keine Szene aus "Blair Witch Project in Space", sonder einfach nur eine Spielkarte einer fröhlichen Astronautin. Foto: Volkmann

Keine Szene aus „Blair Witch Project in Space“, sondern einfach nur eine Spielkarte einer fröhlichen Astronautin. Foto: Volkmann

Im Gegensatz zu anderen rein kooperativen Brettspielen schlüpft man bei Mission ISS nicht pro Spieler in die Rolle eines Charakters, sondern kümmert sich – quasi als übergeordnete Kommando-Instanz – um das gesamte Team. Dennoch sind die Spiele reihum am Zug, müssen also jeweils selbst die Entscheidungen über die Astro-Crew treffen – allerdings jeweils in Absprache mit den anderen ISS-Experten. Das ist zumindest einer der reizvollen Faktoren dieses strategischen Koop-Brettspiels. Zu Beginn drei, später sechs Astronauten schweben dabei durch das schwarze Vakuum. Jeder ist ausgestattet mit drei Fähigkeiten. Und so kann man rundenweise die Figuren bewegen, etwa erforschen oder bauen lassen. Etwa Progress gibt es auch, dargestellt durch Punkte-Tokens in den Sockeln der Figuren. Die sehen auf den ersten Blick gewöhnungsbedürftig aus, denn es handelt sich um 3D-Stecksätze. Spielerisch fügt sich das allerdings gut ein und es ist zudem funktional.

Kommando-Karten geben die Richtung vor 

Völlig wahllos geht man als Kommandant übrigens nicht ans Werk: Karten steuern die Aktionsauswahl. Diese werden aufgeteilt, offen ausgelegt und dann ausgewählt und aktiviert – jeweils eine eigene Karte und eine eines anderen Spielers. Man ist also abhängig von der Auslage, weil Karten kurzfristig geblockt sind, kann man nicht immer aus dem Vollen schöpfen, muss also abwägen, was zu welchem Zeitpunkt als Aktion sinnvoll ist. Das klingt simpel, und ist es im Grunde auch, entfaltet aber durchaus einen spielerischen Reiz, weil das Setup auf dem Tisch sich ständig verändert. Die Rotation ist zwar nicht dramatisch, aber stets spürbar. Ein gelungener Kniff, der spaßig ist und nachvollziehbar. 

Beim Aufbau gilt: Erstmals alles zusammenstecken - irgendwann sind alle Astronauten einsatzbereit. Foto: Volkmann

Beim Aufbau gilt: Erstmals alles zusammenstecken – irgendwann sind alle Astronauten einsatzbereit. Foto: Volkmann

Ansonsten wabert die Astro-Crew im Verlauf der Partie zu den Modulen, werkelt daran herum. Vor allem wird jedoch geforscht. Das Luft- und Raumfahrt-Thema bringt Michael Luu damit hervorragend aufs Brett, denn auch bei „echten Astronauten“ nimmt die Forschung einen Großteil ihres Arbeitsauftrags ein. Hat man alle Würfelaugen „weggeforscht“, erhält man als Belohnung einen Bonus. Der ist meist hilfreich, aber nicht das eigentliche Ziel – das besteht nämlich darin, die roten Würfel möglichst zu eliminieren. Gebaut werden darf nicht, wenn der signalfarbene Zufallsgenerator in der Raumstation liegt. Und das ist dann genau das Gegenteil des eigentlichen Spielziels: dem Ausbau der ISS.

Auch interessant:
Battle of the Influencers: Quartett mit Szene-Größen auf Kickstarter

An dieser Stelle kommt ein zusätzlicher Kniff ins Spiel, nämlich der individuelle Bau-Skill der Astronauten. Weil die Module unterschiedlich schwierig anzuheften sind, kann das nur ein Profi erledigen, manchmal müssen mehrere Crewmitglieder gleichzeitig ran. Kleine Hilfs-Robos gewähren kleine Boni, das mildert die Schwierigkeit manchmal ab. Hat man erfolgreich angebaut, kommt ein neuer blauer Würfel auf den Tisch und damit rückt die Forschung wieder in den Mittelpunkt. So schließt sich der Kreis. 

Die 3D-Grusel-Crew mit ihren Axt-Armen hätte auch Wes Craven nicht besser hinbekommen können - funktional sind die Figuren allerdings. Foto: Volkmann

Die 3D-Grusel-Crew mit ihren Axt-Armen hätte auch Wes Craven nicht besser hinbekommen können – funktional sind die Figuren allerdings. Foto: Volkmann

Spannung kommt durch zufällige Ereignisse auf. Die sind meist mit unerwünschten Effekten verbunden und erhöhen die Schwierigkeit beim Modul-Bau. Ohnehin sind alle Spielhandlungen und Mini-Regeln gut und thematisch sinnvoll miteinander verwoben. Ob man das von diesem Brettspiel im Vorfeld erwartet hat? Wir zumindest nicht. Die Überraschung fiel daher positiv aus. Was aufgrund der Beschreibung zunächst klingt wie ein seichtes Familienspiel, bei dem man fröhlich seine Raumstation zusammenzimmert, entpuppt sich mit fortschreitenden Verlauf als echte Kopfnuss.

Auch wenn man meinen könnte, die Aufgaben würden mit steigender Erfahrung der Astronauten leichter, sie werden es nicht. Man muss immer planen, denn eine Partie läuft nicht unendlich lange: die Spielrunden sind begrenzt, angezeigt durch einen Zeitstrahl, dessen Marken wandert wann immer man ein Schichtende einläuten muss. Dann wird zwar aufgefrischt, aber man rückt dem Finale auch automatisch näher. Der Spielablauf von Mission ISS ist dadurch nicht stressig, es ist kein Sanduhr-Spiel, aber dennoch sitzt der Crew die Zeit im Nacken. Die Tatsache, dass Zwischenprüfungen die Partie sofort beenden können, führt nicht unbedingt zu mehr Entspannung. hat man nämlich weniger als eine geforderte Menge an Modulen gebaut, wars das mit der Mission. 

Die ISS ist ein Biest auf dem Spieltisch: Die Idee des etwas anderen Spielplans ist aber ziemlich gelungen. Foto: Volkmann

Die ISS ist ein Biest auf dem Spieltisch: Die Idee des etwas anderen Spielplans ist aber ziemlich gelungen. Foto: Volkmann

Gewinnen kann man allerdings auch: nach dem Bau von zwölf Modulen, zeitlich hingegen im Jahr 2011. Dann darf man quasi die Zeitreise in die Gegenwart antreten und das Space-Abenteuer ist beendet. Die Aussichten für die ISS sind aus heutiger Sicht nicht mehr ganz so rosig: Auch wenn dieses einzigartige Konstrukt für die Ewigkeit gebaut zu sein scheint, rechnet man mit einem rein technischen Betrieb bis maximal etwa 2030. 

Infobox

Spielerzahl: 1 bis 4
Alter: ab 12 Jahren
Schwierigkeit: mittel
Langzeitmotivation: mittel
Genre: Familienspiele
Untergenre: Kooperative Brettspiele

Autor: Michael Luu
Offizielle Website: Link
Erscheinungsjahr: 2021
Sprache:  deutsch
Kosten: 32,99 Euro

 

Fazit

Das Brettspiel Mission ISS hat erstmal den Charme des hässlichen Entleins, optisch will das Space-Drama nicht gänzlich zünden, immerhin ist alles aber übersichtlich und funktional. Recht gelungen sind sogar die Illustrationen auf den Karten. Aber das ist alles natürlich Geschmackssache: Wer ein Brettspiel mit steckbaren 3D-Figürchen mag, wird Mission ISS aus dem Hause Schmidt Spiele als Augenweide abfeiern. 

Entscheidend is‘ allerdings aufm Platz und genau da überzeugt der Titel mit seinem überraschend fordernden Ablauf. Die Mechaniken und Regelkniffe greifen ineinander und weil das so gut funktioniert, muss man als Team stets zusammenarbeiten. Einfach ist das nicht, mitunter sogar ziemlich knifflig. Von Beginn an müssen alle Spieler konzentriert bei der Sache sein und vorausplanen. Hier zeigt sich: mit steigender Spielerfahrung sinkt der Schwierigkeitsgrad, was gut ist, denn Mission ISS kann sich als harte Nuss entpuppen. Leidlich erfahren das vor allem „Bauchspieler“, die ihren Gefühlen folgen und Züge eher antizipieren – erfolgreich ist das nur selten. Wer zu flüssig durch kommt, kann den Schwierigkeitsgrad auch anpassen und weniger „gute Ereignisse“ zulassen.

Der Spielablauf unterscheidet sich von Partie zu Partie, manchmal mehr, manchmal weniger. Das motiviert und animiert zum Herumprobieren. Genauer: zum geplanten Herumprobieren. 

Absolut im Fokus steht die Forschung, daran lässt der Ablauf von Mission ISS keine Zweifel: Stets schwebt der Baustopp wie ein Damoklesschwert über der Raumstation und darüber wiederum schwebt das noch schärfere Damoklesschwert 2.0 in Form der Zwischenwertungen auf dem Zeitstrahl.

Mission ISS zeigt eindrucksvoll drei Dinge: Optik ist nicht alles bei einem Brettspiel, heftige Team-Knobeleien können Spaß machen. Und: Mit dem Traumjob Astronaut ist es eine ziemlich komplizierte Angelegenheit. 

Und abseits des Spielerischen kann dieses Werk mit seinem Informationsgehalt punkten: In den Anleitung gibt es nämlich viele spannende Anekdoten über die ISS, die Module und das Projekt. Etwas mehr an Hintergründen würde man sich bei vielen Brettspielen wünschen – hier hat man alles richtig gemacht. 


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Schmidt Spiele 49393 Mission ISS, Strategiespiel, Bunt Schmidt Spiele 49393 Mission ISS, Strategiespiel, Bunt * Aktuell keine Bewertungen 27,41 EUR

Letzte Aktualisierung am 17.05.2021 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API