Was 2021 a good year for board games? This can be a princely argument at the end of the year. There were highlights, but also failures, beautiful moments, but also the pandemic. A review. 

A year that could be crossed out of history will end in 2021: Seldom before have twelve months been so insignificant as in this year that is now ending. 2021 was like 2020 - that was mainly due to the corona pandemic, which set the framework for people around the world. Even if it hardly ran anywhere else, it was time to play. Thanks to some easing and the advancing vaccination campaign, board games were possible again.

Just in time for the beginning of 2021, hope flared up: the vaccine was there, the first syringes had already been used, and the immunization enabled players to return to the tables for rounds together. That was definitely a gain after the long period of waiver in the previous year. The coronavirus dominated everyday life, but a little less. Another highlight: Spiel'21 in Essen as a presence fair. After the cancellation due to the pandemic situation in 2020, numerous fans returned to the exhibition halls, albeit under different conditions. Never before had the International Game Days been so longed for as in the year 2021 that is now ending. That the GAME'21 took place, was a little surprise after a long shivering game: one had hoped, wished, maybe prayed - but it seemed at times unrealistic that one could hold a mass with thousands of visitors in the middle of the pandemic autumn. At some point it was clear: It will work and it will happen.

What was played at the Essen trade fair was then a summary of the hottest titles of the season. It started slowly, but brought about a real innovation: MicroMacro. With his vision of a black and white “Crime City”, game designer Johannes Sich had created a worldwide phenomenon - and by the way created a new genre. A hidden object with a cooperative detective gameplay has never existed in this form and playful intensity. MicroMacro: Crime City became a worldwide hit with hundreds of thousands of copies sold. Successor was announced at an early stage, meanwhile there is with MicroMacro: Crime City 2 - Full House a continuation. But it won't stay that way, that's for sure. Commercially, the project paid off for Pegasus Spiele and the creative team, and the whole thing was garnished with the Game of the Year 2021 award

Paleo has proven to be no less successful, winning the Kennerspiel des Jahres 2021 award, which was a surprise, if only a small one, in view of the competition in this area.

Two board games do not make up a year, especially good or bad. But there was more in 2021: Beyond the Sun, for example, the Lost Ruins of Arnak, Dune: Imperium, Clash of Cultures, The Crew: Mission Tiefsee, the new edition of Descent including app support, The Adventures of Robin Hood, Die Red Cathedral - the year had top-class titles in store for pretty much every type of player. With Arche Nova, Tierra del Fuego games even ended 2021 with one of the best board games of the season.

Other titles were more than just insider tips: The Loop, Abyssal, Insel der Katzen, So Kleever, Witchstone, Praga Caput Regni, Hadrian's Wall - you could continue the list for the end of the year and probably still have numerous good or even excellent board games forget. Play everything? This is no longer possible with the mass of new releases. Even in the past Corona years, the market was flooded with new board and card games that everyone wants to play but cannot. So selection has to be made, sometimes rigorously, in order to create time, for titles that scream for more than just two or three games: one of them is the one already mentioned Nova Ark. The zoo board game will not only accompany fans throughout 2022, but also beyond.

And what about the publishers? Who stood out in 2021? Board games from the giants of the industry spring to mind - our favorite though is Flatout Games. With board games such as Calico, Cascadia, Verdant or Dollars to Donuts, numerous noteworthy titles had been published, all of which were convincing in terms of play, looked wonderful on the table and were also reasonably priced.

With the Board game prices was that a thing in 2021: subjectively, quite a few titles were overpriced and objectively, price increases can now be determined. The reason is the pandemic and the scarcity of resources it causes: board games are sometimes becoming significantly more expensive, on average in the area between five and ten percentt. Fans will be happy to pay the money, and board games have long since become a luxury hobby for frequent gamers. Some money can perhaps be saved in the future or withdrawn from other sources. At Kickstarter, for example. The platform and its projects are still booming, but the explosion in taxes and shipping costs have ensured that fans are much more selective.

Or fans concentrate on domestic crowdfunding offers, of which there are now many. For the game forge The past year was a mammoth year: The King is Dead, Destilled, The Defense of Procyon III, Brass Lancashire, Scarface 1920 or Wild Serengeti were just some of the projects successfully funded with the support of the Swarm. The fact that board games that were originally launched on Kickstarter are now often published in German is not only thanks to the Spieleschmiede, but also to the ambitious publishers, who prove that they are very close to the wishes of the players: small publishers such as Skellig Games or Taverna Ludica Games have established themselves in the niches, but the giants of the industry have long been causing one or two surprises in this area: Calico was published as a localized version by Ravensburger - this is probably not where the implementation would have been located.

Licenses were also a big topic in 2021: Star Wars, Marvel, Harry Potter - the popular brands were implemented in large numbers in board and card games. In the meantime it is also video games that make the leap to analog game worlds. Assassin's Creed, Dark Souls, Resident Evil, Cyberpunk 2077 - hardly any popular computer game remains without a suitable board game adaptation. That could intensify in 2022 and beyond: Due to the buying interest of Embracer Group At the toy giant Asmodee, a kind of super-cooperation could develop for board players, in the back of which there are numerous well-known or interesting brands that can also be processed as board games.

Ultimately, 2021 was more eventful than expected and playfully more intense than expected. But whether the year was good or bad? Every gamer can only answer this question for himself. If we were asked, we would describe the ending year as a good one. 

Author

War 2021 ein guter Jahrgang für Brettspiele? Darüber lässt sich zum Jahresende fürstlich streiten. Es gab Highlights, aber auch Reinfälle, schöne Momente, aber auch die Pandemie. Ein Rückblick. 

Mit 2021 endet ein Jahr, das man aus der Geschichte streichen könnte: Selten zuvor waren zwölf Monate so belanglos wie in in diesem nun endenden Jahr. 2021 war wie 2020 – das lag vor allem an der Corona-Pandemie, die für Menschen weltweit die Rahmenbedingungen vorgab.  Wenn auch sonst kaum etwa lief: die Zeit zum Spielen war da. Dank einiger Lockerungen und der voranschreitenden Impf-Kampagne waren Brettspielrunden wieder möglich.

Pünktlich zum Jahresbeginn 2021 flammte Hoffnung auf: Der Impfstoff war da, die ersten Spritzen bereits gesetzt, die Immunisierung ermöglichte Spielern, für gemeinsame Runden an die Tische zurückzukehren. Das war durchaus ein Gewinn nach der langen Zeit des Verzichts im Vorjahr. Das Coronavirus dominierte den Alltag, aber etwas weniger. Ebenfalls ein Highlight: die Spiel’21 in Essen als Präsenz-Messe. Nach der Absage aufgrund der pandemische Lage im Jahr 2020 kehrten Fans zahlreich zurück in die Messehallen, wenn auch unter anderen Bedingungen. Nie zuvor hatte man sich die Internationalen Spieletage so herbeigesehnt wie im nun endenden Jahr 2021. Dass die SPIEL’21 stattfand, war nach längerer Zitterpartie eine kleine Überraschung: Man hatte gehofft, gewünscht, vielleicht gebetet – dennoch schien es zeitweise unrealistisch zu sein, dass man eine Messe mit Tausenden Besuchern mitten im pandemischen Herbst durchführen könnte. Irgendwann stand fest: Es geht und es wird passieren.

Was auf der Essener Messe gespielt wurde, war dann eine Zusammenfassung der angesagtesten Titel der Saison. Die begann gemächlich, brachte aber eine echte Innovation hervor: MicroMacro. Mit seiner Vision einer schwarz-weißen “Crime City” hatte der Spieleautor Johannes Sich für ein inzwischen weltweites Phänomen gesorgt – und ganz nebenbei ein neues Genre erschaffen. Ein Wimmelbild mit kooperativem Detektiv-Spielablauf, das gab es in dieser Form und spielerischen Intensität noch nicht. MicroMacro: Crime City wurde zu einem weltweiten Erfolg mit hundertausenden verkauften Exemplaren. Nachfolger wurde entsprechend frühzeitig angekündigt, inzwischen gibt es mit MicroMacro: Crime City 2 – Full House eine Fortsetzung. Dabei wird es allerdings nicht bleiben, das ist sicher. Kommerziell hat sich das Projekt für Pegasus Spiele und Kreativteam gelohnt, garniert wurde das mit Ganze mit dem Preis Spiel des Jahres 2021

Als nicht minder erfolgreich hat sich Paleo erwiesen, das die Auszeichnung Kennerspiel des Jahres 2021 abräumen konnte, angesichts der Konkurrenz in diesem Bereich war das eine Überraschung, wenn auch nur eine kleine.

Zwei Brettspiele machen noch keinen Jahrgang aus, vor allem keinen guten oder schlechten. Aber da war mehr im Jahr 2021: Beyond the Sun zum Beispiel, die Verlorenen Ruinen von Arnak, Dune: Imperium, Clash of Cultures, Die Crew: Mission Tiefsee, die Neuauflage von Descent samt App-Support, Die Abenteuer des Robin Hood, Die Rote Kathedrale – für so ziemlich jeden Spielertyp hielt das Jahr hochkarätige Titel bereit. Mit Arche Nova schloss Feuerland Spiele 2021 sogar mit einem der besten Brettspiele des Saison ab.

Auch andere Titel waren mehr als bloße Geheimtipps: The Loop, Abgrundtief, Insel der Katzen, So Kleever, Witchstone, Praga Caput Regni, Hadrians Wall – man könnte die Liste für das endende Jahr fortführen und hätte vermutlich immer noch zahlreiche gut oder gar hervorragende Brettspiele vergessen. Alles spielen? Das geht bei der Masse an Neuerscheinung längst nicht mehr. Selbst in den zurückliegenden Corona-Jahren wurde der Markt überflutet mit neuen Brett- und Kartenspielen, die man alle spielen will, aber nicht kann. Also muss selektiert werden, manchmal rigoros, um Zeit zu schaffen, für Titel, die nach mehr als bloß zwei oder drei Partien schreien: eines davon ist das bereits genannte Arche Nova. Das Zoo-Brettspiel wird Fans nicht nur über das gesamte Jahr 2022 begleiten, sondern auch darüber hinaus.

Und bei den Verlagen? Wer stach heraus im Jahr 2021? Brettspiele von den Giganten der Branche kommen einem in den Sinn – unser Favorit ist allerdings Flatout Games. Mit Brettspielen wie Calico, Cascadia, Verdant oder Dollars to Donuts hatte man zahlreiche beachtenswerte Titel veröffentlicht, die spielerisch allesamt überzeugten, wunderbar aussahen auf dem Tisch und zudem preislich fair waren.

Mit den Preisen von Brettspielen war das so eine Sache in 2021: subjektiv waren nicht wenige Titel überteuert und auch objektiv lassen sich nun Preissteigerungen feststellen. Die Pandemie und durch sie bedingte Ressourcenverknappung ist der Grund: Brettspiele werden teils deutlich teurer, durchschnittlich im Bereich zwischen fünf und zehn Prozent. Fans werden das Geld gern bezahlen, für Vielspieler sind Brettspiele längst zu einem Luxushobby geworden. Etwas Geld lässt sich zukünftig vielleicht sparen beziehungsweise aus anderen Quellen abziehen. Bei Kickstarter zum Beispiel. Die Plattform und ihre Projekte boomen nach wie vor, die Kostenexplosion durch Steuern und Versand haben allerdings dafür gesorgt, dass Fans deutlich selektiver vorgehen.

Oder aber Fans konzentrieren sich auf inländische Crowdfunding-Angebote, deren gibt es inzwischen nämlich viele. Für die Spieleschmiede war das zurückliegende Jahr ein Mammutjahr: Der König ist tot, Destilled, Die Verteid(ig)ung von Procyon III, Brass Lancashire, Scarface 1920 oder Wild Serengeti waren nur einige der erfolgreich mit Unterstützung des Schwarms finanzierten Projekte. Dass ursprünglich auf Kickstarter angestoßene Brettspiele inzwischen häufig auf Deutsch erscheinen, ist nicht nur der Spieleschmiede zu verdanken, sondern auch den ambitionierten Verlagen, die damit beweisen, dass sie ganz nah dran sind an den Wünschen der Spieler: Kleine Verlage wie Skellig Games oder Taverna Ludica Games haben sich in den Nischen etabliert, aber auch die Giganten der Branche sorgen in dem Bereich längst für die eine oder andere Überraschung: So erschien Calico als lokalisierte Version im Verlag Ravensburger – dort hätte man die Umsetzung vermutlich nicht unbedingt verortet.

Lizenzen waren auch in 2021 ein großes Thema: Star Wars, Marvel, Harry Potter – die populären Marken wurden zahlreich in Brett- und Kartenspiele umgesetzt. Inzwischen sind es auch immer wieder Videospiele, die den Sprung hin zu analogen Spielwelten schaffen. Assassin’s Creed, Dark Souls, Resident Evil, Cyberpunk 2077 – kaum ein populäres Computerspiel bleibt inzwischen ohne passende Brettspieladaption. Das könnte sich im Jahr 2022 und darüber hinaus noch intensivieren: Durch das Kaufinteresse der Embracer Group am Spielwarengiganten Asmodee könnte für Brettspieler eine Art Super-Kooperation entstehen, in deren Hinterhand sich zahlreiche namhaft oder interessante Marken befinden, die sich auch als Brettspiele verarbeiten ließen.

Letztendlich war 2021 bewegter als erwartet und spielerisch intensiver als gedacht. Ob der Jahrgang aber gut oder schlecht gewesen ist? Diese Frage kann jeder Spielende wohl nur für sich selbst beantworten. Fragte man uns, wir würden das endende Jahr als gutes bezeichnen.