Valve wants to stiffen into the ring with the mobile game handheld Steam Deck against the Nintendo Switch. It currently looks like the gaming device could actually be shipped from February 2022.

Apparently the global lack of resources does not seem to cause further delays in the release of Valve's handheld PC Steam Deck. As designer Greg Coomer revealed in an interview with PC Gamer, the start seems to be held in February 2022.

Steam Deck on release course

Valve had previously had to postpone the release of Steam Deck due to a global shortage of semiconductors. This affected all console manufacturers who could not meet the demand for new consoles - or, as in the case of Steam's handheld, could not even bring a console onto the market. Steam Deck was originally supposed to be rolled out from December 2021.

We are on the right track, says Coomer. All the signs indicated that the planned time window could be reached. For the release, Steam Deck will be sent to pre-orderers in seasons. Coomer states that Valve will deliver large quantities to customers, but the mobile game PC will only be sold directly via Steam and not additionally in retail outlets. Valve will thus be able to control sales well.

The Valve designer makes it clear in the interview, however, that it will be a “real product launch”, meaning that thousands of devices would be shipped.

The expectations for the sales figures are high: Valve wants to have delivered “millions” of the Steam Deck after just one year. With the release day, you want to gradually increase the delivery quantities and not send a large load for release, which is then followed by steadily decreasing deliveries.

Steam Deck will be available in different versions with different technical features: the models cost 399, 530 or 650 US dollars or 419, 549 or 679 euros. In the more expensive models, the upgrades mainly affect the memory, which is larger and, from the medium-priced version, also more powerful: NVMe-SSd compared to eMMC-SPeicher in the budget version.


Preview Product Rating Price
Pegasus Games 57318G - Pinball Mania (Frosted Games) Pegasus Games 57318G - Pinball Mania (Frosted Games) * 19,99 EUR

Author

Last updated on 3.08.2022/XNUMX/XNUMX / Affiliate Links / Images from the Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate links. Images from Amazon PA API

Valve will mit dem mobilen Spiele-Handheld Steam Deck gegen die Nintendo Switch in den Ring steifen. Derzeit sieht es danach aus, als könnte das Spielgerät tatsächlich ab Februar 2022 versandt werden.

Offenbar scheint der weltweite Ressourcenmangel nicht für weitere Verzögerungen bezüglich des Release von Valves Handheld-PC Steam Deck zu sorgen. Wie Designer Greg Coomer in einem Interview mit PC Gamer verriet, scheint man den Start im Februar 2022 halten zu können.

Steam Deck auf Release-Kurs

Zuvor hatte Valve des Release von Steam Deck verschieben müssen, weil weltweit ein Mangel an Halbleitern herrschte. Davon betroffen waren alle Konsolenhersteller, die den Bedarf an neuen Konsolen nicht decken konnten – oder, wie im Falle von Steams Handheld, eine Konsole gar nicht erst auf den Markt bringen konnten. Steam Deck sollte ursprünglich ab Dezember 2021 ausgerollt werden.

Man sei auf dem richtigen Weg, so Coomer. Alle Zeichen deuteten darauf hin, dass das geplante Zeitfenster zu erreichen ist. Zum Release wird Steam Deck in Staffeln auf den Weg zu den Vorbestellern gebracht. Coomer gibt an, Valve werde zwar große Mengen an die Kunden ausliefern, allerdings wird der mobile Spiele-PC lediglich direkt über Steam und nicht etwa zusätzlich im Einzelhandel verkauft. Valve wird den Vertrieb somit gut steuern können.

Der Valve-Designer stellt in dem Intervie jedoch auch klar, dass es sich um eine “echte Produkteinführung” handeln wird, also tausende Geräte versandt würden.

Die Erwartungen an die Verkaufszahlen sind groß: Bereits nach einem Jahr will Valve “Millionen” Einheiten des Steam Deck geliefert haben. Mit dem Release-Tag will man die Liefermengen sukzessive erhöhen und nicht etwa eine Großladung zum Release verschicken, auf die dann stetig abnehmende Lieferungen folgen.

Steam Deck wird in verschiedenen Versionen mit unterschiedlichen technischen Ausstattungen erhältlich sein: die Modelle kosten 399, 530 oder 650 US-Dollar beziehungsweise 419, 549 oder 679 Euro. Bei den teureren Modelle betreffen die Upgrades vor allem den Speicher, der ist größer und ab der mittelpreisigen Version auch leistungsstärker: NVMe-SSd gegenüber eMMC-SPeicher bei der Budget-Version.


Vorschau Produkt Bewertung Preis
Pegasus Spiele 57318G - Flippermania (Frosted Games) Pegasus Spiele 57318G - Flippermania (Frosted Games) * 19,99 EUR

Autor

Letzte Aktualisierung am 12.08.2022 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API. * = Affiliate Links. Bilder von Amazon PA-API