The gambling market and new online casinos booming. Many have new games on offer, but they also rely on the classics. But where do the games come from and which are the oldest?

How the dice game came about

The game of dice is probably the oldest game in human history. It arises from the original form, the bone throwing. Originally, in ancient Egypt, throwing bones was used for divination. Over time, it developed into a (game of chance).

The first cubes were made from animal teeth or bones. The cube shape we know today comes from Korea. They were used in a Buddhist game called "Elevation". Modern casinos still use dice for games like Sic Bo, Craps or Dice.

The first card games

The oldest finding of playing cards comes from the Chinese province of Turkestan and is dated to the 11th century. In India, round game pieces were used instead of cards, in China dominoes were preferred. The first games came about with the cards.

In 15th century Italy. Baccarat was invented and it was played in France as early as the 18th century. Blackjack and New Orleans became a poker stronghold in the 19th century. The playing cards we are familiar with today have their origins in France, after all clubs, spades, hearts and caros are well-known companions even today. 

The beginnings of casino gambling

The word "Casino" comes from the Italian and means something like summer house or small villa. Usually this cottage was on the site of a large estate or square. It was not until the 19th century that private events became public casinos in Europe, where gambling and betting were indulged.

Due to the large number of emigrants who met in the USA, a wide range of games developed. River boats, which people played on, came into fashion in the 18th century. Pretty soon, beautifully designed casinos were swimming up and down the Ohio or Mississippi. Amusement arcades were also built in major cities such as Chicago and New York. These attracted the elite because they could afford high stakes and high losses. 

Casinos and amusement arcades became big business. The main centers of gambling in the 20th century were Monte Carlo, Las Vegas and Atlantic City. Macau now leads the ranking.

Where does chess come from?

The first beginnings of the game of chess can be found in Persia in the 7th century. Already in the Middle Ages it was a popular pastime for scholars and the nobility. The first works on game theory and game strategies in chess also date from this period. The form of chess known today arose in Spain in the 15th century.

The game of chess experienced a boom in the 19th century. Chess schools opened in Europe, chess clubs and chess magazines spread. Entire chess tournaments were held, which finally culminated in the first world chess championship in 1886. This event and the game are still very important to this day and have even made it into film and television (e.g. “The Queen's Gambit” (Netflix 2020) or “Queen of Katwe” (2016)).

Chess plays a very special role in the computers of the 20th and 21st centuries. Chess computers are some of the most powerful computers in the world. There are a number of sites on the World Wide Web that specialize in chess. It is estimated that chess is played more online than on a board these days.

Roulette

Roulette originated in France in the 18th century, although there were also pre-forms here. Presumably it was first played by the nobility, and then after the French Revolution by the upper Parisian bourgeoisie. It also quickly conquered North America before gambling was banned at the end of the 19th century. 

Reasons why roulette is so popular are, among other things, the rather high odds. Whether at the table or online, roulette experienced a renaissance in the 20th century.

Rummy

The origin of rummy is not exactly clear. One trail leads to Mexico in the 19th century, another to the Chinese Ming dynasty. At the beginning of the 20th century, the game of rummy spread around the world. It is one of the most popular games today. It's also a lot easier than backgammon or chess.

Backgammon

Backgammon is probably the oldest game known to man. The earliest evidence of this comes from Iran, ancient Persia. They are almost 5000 years old. Presumably the Romans then brought it to Europe. There are also tournaments and world championships for backgammon. The first World Cup was held in Las Vegas in 1967. 

And today?

All of these games have made it into the modern age. Most of them can now also be played online in casinos. Do you want to try one of them? Use a casino, which free no deposit bonuses offers. So you can just try it out.

Der Glücksspielmarkt und neue Online Casinos boomen. Viele haben neue Spiele im Angebot, aber sie setzen auch auf die Klassiker. Doch woher kommen die Spiele eigentlich und welche sind die ältesten?

Wie das Würfelspiel entstand

Das Würfelspiel ist wahrscheinlich das älteste Spiel in der Geschichte der Menschheit. Es entspringt der Urform, dem Knochenwerfen. Ursprünglich diente das Werfen von Knochen im alten Ägypten der Wahrsagerei. Über die Zeit entwickelte sich daraus ein (Glücks-)Spiel.

Die ersten Würfel stellte man aus Tierzähnen oder Knochen her. Aus Korea stammt die Würfelform, die wir heute kennen. Sie wurden für ein buddhistisches Spiel mit dem Namen “Erhebung” verwendet. Moderne Casinos verwenden Würfel auch heute noch für Spiele wie Sic Bo, Craps oder Dice.

Die ersten Kartenspiele

Der älteste Fund von Spielkarten stammt aus der chinesischen Provinz Turkestan und wird auf das 11. Jahrhundert datiert. In Indien verwendete man statt Karten eher runde Spielsteine, in China bevorzugte man Dominosteine. Mit den Karten entstanden auch die ersten Spiele.

Im Italien des 15. Jahrhunderts. wurde das Baccarat erfunden, in Frankreich spielte man bereits im 18. Jahrhundert. Blackjack und New Orleans erwuchs im 19. Jahrhunderts zur Hochburg des Poker. Die uns heute geläufigen Spielkarten haben ihren Ursprung in Frankreich, schließlich sind Kreuz, Pik, Herz und Caro auch heute weithin bekannte Begleiter. 

Die Anfänge der Casino Glücksspiele

Das Wort “Casino” entstammt dem Italienischen und bedeutet so viel wie Sommerhaus oder kleine Villa. Gewöhnlich lag dieses Häuschen auf dem Grundstück eines großen Anwesens oder eines Platzes. Erst im 19. Jhd. wurden in Europa aus privaten Veranstaltungen öffentliche Casinos, in denen dem Glücksspiel oder dem Wetten gefrönt wurde.

Aufgrund der vielen Auswanderer, die sich in den USA trafen, entwickelte sich eine große Bandbreite an Spielen. Flussboote kamen im 18. Jhd. in Mode, auf welchen gespielt wurde. Bald schon schwammen schön gestaltete Casinos den Ohio oder den Mississippi hinauf und hinab. Auch in den Großstädten wie Chicago und New York entstanden Spielhallen. Diese zogen die Elite an, denn sie konnte sich hohe Einsätze und hohe Verluste leisten. 

Casinos bzw. Spielhallen wurden zum großen Geschäft. Hauptzentren des Glücksspiels waren im 20. Jahrhundert Monte Carlo, Las Vegas und Atlantic City. Mittlerweile führt Macao die Rangliste an.

Woher kommt Schach?

Die ersten Ansätze des Schachspiels finden sich im Persien des 7. Jahrhunderts. Bereits im Mittelalter war es ein beliebter Zeitvertreib für Gelehrte und den Adel. Aus dieser Zeit stammen auch erste Werke bezüglich Spieltheorie und Spielstrategien beim Schach. Die heute bekannte Form des Schachs kam im 15. Jahrhundert in Spanien auf.

Im 19. Jahrhundert erlebte das Schachspiel einen Boom. In Europa eröffneten Schachschulen, es verbreiteten sich Schachclubs und Schachzeitschriften. Ganze Schachturniere wurden abgehalten, welche schließlich 1886 in der ersten Schachweltmeisterschaft mündeten. Bis heute haben dieses Ereignis und das Spiel große Bedeutung, die es sogar in Film und Fernsehen geschafft hat (z.B. „Das Damengambit“ (Netflix 2020) oder “Queen of Katwe” (2016)).

Für die Computer des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts spielt Schach eine ganz besondere Rolle. Schachcomputer stellen einige der leistungsfähigsten Rechner der Welt dar. Es gibt im World Wide Web etliche Seiten, die sich auf Schach spezialisiert haben. Schätzungen sagen, dass Schach in der heutigen Zeit häufiger online als auf einem Brett gespielt wird.

Roulette

Roulette entstand im 18. Jhd. in Frankreich, wobei es auch hier Vorformen gab. Vermutlich spielte es zunächst der Adel, nach der Französischen Revolution dann auch das gehobene Pariser Bürgertum. Schnell eroberte es auch Nordamerika, bevor das Glücksspiel zu Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts verboten wurde. 

Gründe, warum sich Roulette solcher Beliebtheit erfreut, sind wohl unter anderem die recht hohen Gewinnquoten. Egal ob am Tisch oder online, Roulette erlebte im 20. Jahrhundert eine Renaissance.

Rommé

Der Ursprung des Rommé ist nicht genau geklärt. Eine Spur führt ins Mexiko des 19. Jahrhunderts, eine andere zur chinesischen Ming-Dynastie. Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts verbreitete sich das Rommé-Spiel weltweit. Es gehört heute zu den beliebtesten Spielen überhaupt. Es ist zudem deutlich einfacher als Backgammon oder Schach.

Backgammon

Backgammon ist das wohl älteste Spiel der Menschheit. Früheste Hinweise darauf stammen aus dem Iran, dem alten Persien. Sie sind beinahe 5000 Jahre alt. Vermutlich brachten es die Römer dann nach Europa. Auch für Backgammon gibt es Turniere und Weltmeisterschaften. Die erste WM wurde 1967 in Las Vegas ausgetragen. 

Und heute?

All diese Spiele haben es bis in die Moderne geschafft. Die meisten von Ihnen sind mittlerweile auch online in Casinos spielbar. Wollen Sie eines davon ausprobieren? Nutzen Sie doch ein Casino, welches kostenlose Boni ohne Einzahlung anbietet. So können Sie sich einfach einmal ausprobieren.